Hot conditions and a good entry of drivers set the first day of WSK Super Master in Lonato

An intense hot weather conditions has set the qualifying day of WSK Super Master Series in South Garda Karting at Lonato.  In all categories the big and good amount of drivers has set a very intense fights, specially in OK and OKJ.

KZ2: SodiKart dominates Day 1 with pole position and heats victories

In the first official qualifying session of KZ2 in the WSK Super Master Series has been competitive as always. Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart / TM Racing / Bridg) took the pole position ahead of Giuseppe Palomba (Croc Promotion / TM Racing / Bridg) and CPB Sport driver Emilien Denner (Sodikart / TM Racing / Bridg).

The day has been great for official SodiKart drivers who also took the heats wins with Renaudin taking heat A-B and Bas Lammers wining heat C-D.

OK: No one is able to dominate in Lonato

Almost the double of the drivers in comparison with last WSK race, were driving today in OK class. This meant a very intense qualifying session which ended up with Swedish Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart / Vortex / Bridg) on pole position. The Ward Racing driver was 1 tenth quicker than Gabriele Mini (Parolin / TM Racing / Bridg) who was the quickest in the second qualifying group.

This time there wasn’t a clearly dominating driver in the heats. Dexter Patterson (KR / IAME / Bridg) was the winner in heat C-E, while Gabriele Minì (Parolin / TM Racing / Bridg) won heat B-D, Dino Beganovic was the quickest in heat A-E and podium finished in 2019 Winter Cup edition, Joe Turney (Tony Kart / Vortex / Bridg) was the winner in heat C-D.

OKJ: Thomas Ten Brinke beats Andrea Antonelli by 0.015 seconds

A very competitive qualifying session has set the OK Junior category. In a 103 drivers entry list, all top drivers waited around 4 minutes to get into the track, followed by 2-3 laps getting out of traffic to set 1-2 quick laps. For some this worked out, for many others it did not.

The pole position was taken by Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart / Vortex / Bridg), the Dutch driver was 0.015 seconds quicker than 2019 Winter Cup winner, Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR / IAME / Bridg) from Rosberg Racing Academy.

Like in the last round of WSK Super Master Series, Josep Maria Martí (Tony Kart / Vortex / Bridg) from Tony Kart Racing Team won the first heat, heat A-B. The other heats went to Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart / Vortex / Bridg) in heat C-D and A-C, Jamie Day (Exprit / Vortex / Bridg) in heat E-F, Marcel Kuc (Parolin / TM Racing / Bridg) in heat D-F and Marcus Amand (KR / IAME / Bridg) in heat B-E.

MINI: Bohra in an unexpected pole

Surprisingly the Singaporean driver Akshay Bohra (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) from KR Motorsport took the pole position with a lap-time of 53.754 seconds. In a 108 drivers entry, one of the drivers contenders, Willam MacIntyre (Tony Kart / Vortex / Vega) from Tony Kart Racing Team saw how thing started to get complicated as he wasn’t able to set a lap time so the Briton will have to make a great comeback in the heats if he want to get access to the final.

Already today three heats took part. Ean Eyckmans (Parolin / TM Racing / Vega) was the winner in the heat A-B, while heats C-D and E-F went to Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin / TM Racing / Vega) and Andrea Filaferro (Tony Kart / TM Racing /Vega), respectively.

Tomorrow another intense day at South Garda Karting with the qualifying heats all day long.