Robert De Haan wins opening race of 2019 Academy Trophy

Robert De Haan wins opening race of 2019 Academy Trophy

Dutch driver Robert De Haan has completed his domination from qualifying heats to a victory in the final of the first round of FIA Karting Academy Trophy at Wackersdrof, Germany. Joshua Coertze and Magnus Germansen Daae.

The day started with the last two qualifying heats that confirmed Robert de Haan (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) as the pole sitter for the final after wining heat C-D. Meanwhile Christian Ho (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) secured a better place for the starting grid wining heat A-B.

Robert De Haan starting from pole position for the final had no rival at all during the race and won from lights-to-flag.

The big battle of today was for the second place. Magnus Germansen Daae (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) took this place early one at the start but he was quickly overtaken by Italian Paolo Ferrari (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) on lap 2.

Ferrari kept second place for 7 laps, until the South African driver Joshua Coertze (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) overtook Germansen Daae and Paolo Ferrari for the final second place.

But the comeback of 4 place of Joshua Coertze was not the biggest comeback during the final that had plenty of action and overtakes in the midfield positions.

Polish Bartlomiej Piekutowski (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) went from 30th to 12th performing the highest comeback of the race with a total of 18 places. Also, we had big comebacks from Brazilian Lucas Staico (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) who finished 15th after starting 32nd, while other youngsters such as American Luca Mars (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone), Korean Hwarang Kim (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) or Spanish Eric Alanis (Exprit/Vortex/B’stone) comeback more than 10 places.

The next race of FIA Karting Academy Trophy will be held at the classic venue of Sarno, Italy during the 16th of June.


PH: Sportinphoto