CIK-FIA European Championship KZ2-OK-OK Junior + Academy Trophy in Le Mans (F) – Final races

CIK-FIA European Championship KZ2-OK-OK Junior + Academy Trophy in Le Mans (F) – Final races

[divider style=”dotted” top=”10″ bottom=”20″]
The winners of the 4th round of the CIK-FIA European Championship at Le Mans (F) are Travisanutto (I – Zanardi-Parilla OK), Muth (D – Zanardi-Parilla OKJ), Ippolito (I – Lenzo-LKE KZ2) and Handsaeme (B – Exprit-Vortex Academy). Next week the special TV report on

[divider style=”dotted” top=”10″ bottom=”20″]


[dropcap]N[/dropcap]ew challenges at the CIK-FIA European Championship after the round in Le Mans.
The CIK-FIA European Championship weekend at Le Mans said that nothing has been decided yet, and the final races in Scandinavia at the end of July are going to be decisive. The French round was won by drivers that now can seriously aim at the titles in the last races which are going to take place in Finland and Sweden: this is one of the topics which will be dealt with in the special TV report on next week.

Travisanutto dominates the OK Final.
The Norwegian Dennis Hauger (CRG-Parilla-LeCont), the top driver after the qualifying heat stage of the OK, had to cope with a great rival: the Italian Lorenzo Travisanutto (Zanardi-Parilla). Travisanutto, in the Final, managed to gain an early lead and to set too fast a pace for the rest of the pack. Hauger trailed in his wake for a long time, but towards the end of the race he was overtaken by the Moroccan Sami Taoufik (FA Kart-Vortex), who was eventually the runner-up. Also the British Finlay Kenneally (Tony Kart-Vortex) joined the battle and attacked Hauger. The duel between the two drivers obliged the stewards to give the Norwegian a penalty for an irregular manoeuvre, leaving to Kenneally the third place. The victory in Le Mans (above, the podium of OK) allows Travisanutto to gain positions in the Championship standings, right in the race where the category leader, the Spanish David Vidales (Tony Kart-Vortex), did not manage to enter the Final.

Ippolito is the surprising winner in KZ2.
Paolo Ippolito (Lenzo-LKE-Bridgestone) won in Le Mans and he is now among the top drivers of KZ2. The Italian, who was in first position after the qualifying heats, was the toughest rival for his fellow countryman, Matteo Viganò (Tony Kart-Vortex), in the Final. Viganò gained the leadership of the race at the start, with


Ippolito who managed to grab the second place after passing the Lithuanian Rokas Baciuska (Sodi-TM) and leaving the Italian Alessandro Pelizzari (CKR-TM) in fourth position. The final stage of the race was thrilling: Viganò was forced to pull over for an engine failure with only one lap to go. So, victory went to Ippolito (in the photo above), who achieved a well-deserved first position ahead of Baciuska and Pelizzari.

Muth attacks and wins in OK Junior.
Also the OK Junior has a new winning driver: the German O’neill Muth (Zanardi-Parilla-Vega) won the round of Le Mans after a heated battle between four drivers. Muth had a long duel against his team-mate, the French Hadrien David (the best of the qualifying stage), the English Jonny Edgar (Exprit-TM) and the Spanish Genis Civico (FA Kart-Parilla). During the Final, all these four drivers managed to gain the head of the race but it was Muth who, eventually, managed to cross the finishing line in first position. The tussle for the remaining podium positions saw David arriving in second ahead of Edgar and Civico. Above, the OKJ podium.

Handsaeme vittorioso in Academy Trophy.
Il belga Xavier Handsaeme (sopra, in cima al podio) ha concluso vittorioso la
Handsaeme wins the Academy Trophy.
The Belgian Xavier Handsaeme (above, on the top of the podium) won the second round of the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy. He gained the leadership of the Final at the start and kept it until the end. Behind him, the tussle for the other top positions had serious consequences on the front kart fairings. Some drivers were hit by penalties, among them the Spanish Ayrton Fontecha and the English Alexander Simmonds, who lost their second and third place. So, the remaining steps on the podium were occupied by the French Sami Meguetounif – the best in qualifying – and the Danish Oliver Skov Skjellerup, second and third respectively (all drivers on Exprit-Vortex).


[divider style=”dotted” top=”10″ bottom=”10″]

[box type=”shadow”] Fonte: [email protected] [/box]

[divider style=”dotted” top=”10″ bottom=”10″]