Maiden victory for Jamie Day in FIA Karting European OKJ Championship at Kristianstad

Maiden victory for Jamie Day in FIA Karting European OKJ Championship at Kristianstad

The UAE driver Jamie Day has taken his first ever victory in FIA Karting European Championship of OKJ during the final race of round 3 at Kristianstad (Sweden). Day won a crazy race ahead of Marcus Amand and Kajus Siksnelis.

As usual in the FIA Karting European Championship the last heat was held this morning, just before the finals.

It was a good opportunity once again to show that Tuukka Taponen (RedSpeed/Iame/Vega) is back on top in a dominant way wining heat A-B against Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/Iame/Vega). This battled helped Taponen to ensure the pole position for the final, just ahead of Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) who dominated in heat E-F, which was a controversial heat as many crashes happened.

Robert de Haan (Energy/TM Racing/Vega) won in heat C-D after a great comeback with new tyres in order to get a position into the final.

In the final, after such a domination all weekend long for Kohtala Sports driver Tuukka Taponen, the Finn driver saw how all this pace disappeared as he lost the lead during the first lap with Rosberg junior driver Andrea Kimi Antonelli and Russian Nikita Bedrin. Taponen then fell to twenty-fifth place and managed to finish in twelfth place.

Meanwhile, Nikita Bedrin overtook Antonelli on lap two and tried to scape from the Italian. But at half-point of the race, Marcus Amand (Kosmic/Iame/Vega) who comeback to second place together with Jamie Day (Exprit/Vortex/Vega) caught the Tony Kart official driver.

Bedrin was overtaken by Jamie Day and Marcus Amand with both drivers pulling a gap from the official Tony Kart driver to secured first and second position, while the Russian lost the podium place with 3 laps remaining as he was overtaken by Ward Racing driver Kajus Siksnelis (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega).

The next and final round of FIA Karting European Championship of OKJ will be held from 19th to 21st of July at Le Mans.

Final Results

PH: Sportinphoto