Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Champions of the Future Euro Series rd 2, Zuera: qualifying – Pole position for Powell (OK) and Tye (OKJ)
Luca Basso
15 April 2022

[Translated with Google]

Three weeks after the Portimao weekend, the RGMMC group is back on track in Zuera for the second round of the Champions of the Future Euro Series, such as as "preparatory" for the second round of the FIA Karting European Championship scheduled in two weeks on the same circuit. There are 72 drivers who come to the start of the championship in the OK category, while 64 compete in the OKJ.

The usual qualifications took place on Friday, and then continued with the first qualifying heats, which will continue throughout the day on Saturday.

OK: hat-trick KR, Alex Powell in pole position

Tires: MG Tires

  • After an unfortunate double trip to Portugal, Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is back in top form in Spain. The driver with Jamaican license, in fact, records the absolute best time in qualifying (1: 00.536) and leads the KR Motorsport hat-trick: behind him in the standings are Kean Nakamura Berta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), second, and Yuanpu Cui (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), third.

  • If in the Top 3 we find three KR, in the immediately following positions we find three Tony Karts. David Walther (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), in pole position at Portimao, stops less than a hundredth of a second behind Powell, but is fourth due to the combined classification; behind the Finn we find Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), fifth, and Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), sixth.

  • Absent in Portugal, Evan Giltaire (VDK Racing - KR - IAME) makes his season debut in the championship with a solid seventh position. Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) follows him in eighth position, then Cristian Bertuca (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), ninth, and Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), tenth, close the Top 10 of qualifications. It should be remembered that Ricky Flynn Motorsport's Briton won the OKJ European title in Zuera with a nice victory in the final.

  • Reigning OK world champion Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is 12th, also behind Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 11th. With 13th position, Dion Gowda Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex) precedes two Finns: Eemeli Koivisto (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), 14th, and Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME).

  • Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is ranked 20th, while two positions ahead are Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), 18th. On the lowest step of the podium in Round 1, Tomas Stolcermanis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) does not find the square and starts the weekend 27th.

  • Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) was also behind, 31st, as did Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team - CRG - IAME), 32nd, Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), 36th , Viktor Gustavsson (CRG Racing Team - CRG - IAME), 38th, and Rintaro Sato (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), 60th.

  • Kirill Smal (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) is also at the start, 3rd last year in the Italian F4 Championship with a seasonal victory to his assets.


OKJ: Nathan Tye aims for victory

Tires: Vega

  • After the second position obtained in Round 1, Nathan Tye (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing) wants to repeat himself also in Spain: in fact, the Briton prints the best time in qualifying group 2 (1: 02.215) and gets the pole position.

  • Big surprise of the day is Jules Caranta (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing). The Frenchman, recently passed through the ranks of Energy Corse, beats everyone in group 1 and, by a couple of tenths of a second, is second in the combined standings.

  • Winter Series champion Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex) wants to redeem himself from the retirement in Portimao and finishes third, first in group 3. Despite a better time than the Pole himself, Miguel Costa (Sauber Academy - KR - IAME) must "settle" for fourth position as a result of the combined classification.

  • After two “apprenticeship” races in Portimao, Jindrich Pesl (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) finalizes his first Top 5 in qualifying in the “Junior”. The Czech driver, champion of the WSK Super Master Series in the MINI category, is fifth in the standings. Good performance also by Leen Nijs (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), sixth.

  • Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) concludes the qualification in seventh position, first of the Forza Racing drivers. Behind him, in eighth position, we find a CRG Racing Team standard bearer: Nikolas Roos (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing).

  • Zhenrui Chi (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) finish ninth and tenth respectively, while Anatholy Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), 11th, remains just outside the Top 10 .

  • Undisputed dominator of the Portimao European weekend just a week ago, Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) is 14th. In front of him we find Tiziano Monza (DPK Racing - KR - IAME), 12th and Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing - KR - IAME), 13th.

  • Continuing with the ranking, we find Martin Molnar (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), 15th, and Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 16th. "Solo" 19th Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), while Andres Cardenas (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), 25th, Douwe Dedecker (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), 30th , and Kirill Kutskov (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), 59th.

  • Unclassified Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), timeless, and Lucas Fluxa (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), who never took to the track.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents