Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Champions of the Future Euro Series rd 4, Franciacorta: qualifying – Pole position for Kean Nakamura Berta (OK) and Nathan Tye (OKJ)
Luca Basso
24 June 2022

[Translated with Google]

A little over a month after the third round held in Kristianstad, the RGMMC group is back on track in Franciacorta for the fourth and final round of the Champions of the Future Euro Series. The protagonists of the direct drive categories, OK and OKJ, have the opportunity to compete in a "preparatory" race on the circuit that in two weeks will host the fourth round of the FIA Karting European Championship. There are 60 drivers who take part in the premier class of single-speed karting, while 78 young bishops are ready to compete in the “Junior”.

The usual qualifications took place on Friday, and then continued with the first qualifying heats, which will continue throughout the day on Saturday.

OK: Kean Nakamura Berta is lightning fast and gets pole

Tires: MG Tires

  • There is no doubt: of all three official qualifying sessions, Kean Nakamura Berta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is the fastest driver. The Japanese, reigning OKJ world champion, finds a particular feeling with the Franciacorta track and sets a time of 47.035 in group 1, clearly the fastest compared to his rivals.

  • In fact, Nico Cuman (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) is Nakamura Berta’s first pursuer and is the only one with a delay of less than a tenth of a second. The Italian, in great shape in Group 2, stops the clock on a time of 47.121, 86 thousandths of a second from pole position.

  • Despite a much higher time reference than Nakamura Berta (+0.294), Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is first in group 3 and, consequently, is third in the combined classification. An excellent result for the Brit, taking into account his second position in the championship.

  • Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) hits the fourth position in the general classification. At his second appearance in OK, Douwe Dedecker (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is already on the upper floors with a fifth position in qualifying.

  • He had already surprised in qualifying in Zuera on the occasion of the second round of the FIA ​​Karting European Championship and, also in Franciacorta, Nacho Tuñón (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) does not disappoint expectations. The Spaniard is sixth classified, followed by Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), seventh, and by Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), eighth.

  • Enea Frey (Beyond Racing Team - KR - TM Racing), ninth, and Yuanpu Cui KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), tenth, complete the Top 10, touched instead by Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex): the current leader of the points classification is 11th.

  • Behind the Italian driver are Maksim Orlov (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), 12th, David Walther (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), 13th, the reigning OK world champion Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 14th, and Caspian Hagman (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), 15th.

  • Fourth in the championship, Evan Giltaire (VDK Racing - KR - IAME) closes the session in 16th position, while Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team - Tony Kart Vortex) is 22nd. Winner of the last round in Kristianstad and third in the drivers' standings, Matheus Morgatto (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) does not go beyond 32nd position.


OKJ: Nathan Tye immediately left his mark in qualifying

Tires: Vega

  • He has been the great star of the championship so far, with two podiums in Portugal and Spain and a win in the rain in Sweden. Current leader Nathan Tye (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing) already has practically his hands in his pockets on the Champions of the Future Euro Series title and, despite this, is not holding back. Already in qualifying he gets pole position, with the best time of 48,805 in group 2.

  • Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex) and Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex) occupy the next two positions. The two teammates are respectively the fastest in groups 1 and 3, but the Belgian is second in the general classification and the Pole gets the third position.

  • Great surprise of these tests is Taym Saleh (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), only 8 thousandths of a second slower than Tye in the same group and fourth in the combined classification. Elliot Kaczynski follows the German in fifth position, while Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), third in the championship, is sixth classified.

  • The Top 10 also sees the presence of Martin Molnar (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), seventh, of Iwo Beszterda (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), eighth, of Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) , ninth, and Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing), tenth.

  • The ranking continues with Kilian Josseron (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing), 11th, ahead of Andres Cardenas (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), 12th. Emanuele Olivieri (IPK Official Racing Team - IPK - TM Racing) takes 13th position, with Alfie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex) 14th and Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) 15th.

  • Subdued performance for Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), second in the championship and 18th in qualifying. On the podium in Sweden, Lucas Fluxa (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) opens his weekend with a 26th position.

  • Back also Miguel Costa (Sauber Academy - KR - IAME), 37th, René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), 58th, and Tiziano Monza (DPK Racing - KR - IAME), 59th. Even 71st Maxens Verbrugge (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), also on the podium in the last round of Kristianstad.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents