Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship, Genk: OKJ Final – A relentless Freddie Slater dominates
Mattia Livraghi
16 May 2021

[Translated with Google Translate]

Tyres: MG Tyres

  • They try to stop him, but they can't: after winning the "test race" two weeks ago, Round 1 of the Champions of the Future series, Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) also triumphs in this first European appointment. Started from outside the front row, the reigning world champion slips fourth at the start, but already during the fourth lap he takes the lead to fly off towards an undisputed success. The English driver crosses the finish line with almost two and a half seconds ahead of his direct rival and starts his FIA season in the best possible way.
    • Starting third, Akshay Bohra (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) took the lead in the second lap thanks to an excellent starting point, but then he was unable to resist Slater's fury and had to settle for second place. Friday's pole-man is skilled in maintaining a constant race pace and in withstanding the pressure of the two riders behind, who have approached in the last laps, to conquer his first European podium.
    • After winning four heats out of five and finishing second in the other, beaten by Slater himself, Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex) started as the favorite from the first place on the grid. The home rider starts well from pole, but is then overtaken by both Slater and Bohra and loses some ground. In the final phase, the bishop of the Kosmic Racing Department gets closer to Bohra, but fails to launch the attack and ends a weekend lived as an absolute protagonist with his first European podium.
    • Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) touches the podium. The driver in orbit Mercedes starts strong from ninth place and in just four laps moves to fourth position. The KR Motorsport rider closes the gap with Eyckmans and Bohra, but fails to overtake and finishes in fourth place.
    • After a difficult qualifying session, Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) both climbed eight places off the start to cross the finish line in fifth and sixth place respectively. Coskun Irfan (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) follows them, confirming himself at the top of the standings after a comeback of four positions. Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), on the other hand, loses four, completing a high-level weekend in eighth place.
    • Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) also made an excellent comeback, recovering eight positions from the start and finishing ninth. After coming close to the top three in the initial phase of the race, Maxhim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) closes the top ten.
    • Third at the end of the first lap, Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) slips back and crosses the finish line in 11th place. Immediately behind him comes Adrian Malheiro Suné (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) thanks to a comeback of ten positions that sees him end a weekend that started with 33rd place overall in qualifying. The KR Motorsport driver precedes James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), who started from eighth on the grid but found himself in the middle of the group in the initial phase of the race due to a difficult start.
    • The two standard bearers of the KSM Official Racing Team, Jayden Thien (KSM Official Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Julius Dinesen (KSM Official Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) complete the top 15, gaining 13 and 16 positions respectively.
    • After an exceptional second overall time in qualifying, Andres Cardenas (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) starts 19th and crosses the finish line in 20th place.
    • The author of the fastest lap is Maxens Verbrugge (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex), who was forced to retire during the last lap. Matteo De Palo (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Jules Caranta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Kevin Lantinga (KSM Official Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - also left the race prematurely) IAME), Tom Braeken (SP Motorsport - KR - TM Racing), Yuanpu Cui (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and Joel Bergström (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex).


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents