Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK and OKJ, rd 2, Sarno: qualifying - Pole position for Barnard (OK) and Dodds (OKJ)
Max Bernardi
21 August 2020

The second round of the FIA ​​Karting European Championship kicks off with qualifying held today under the beating sun that welcomed the drivers on the Circuito Internazionale Napoli. The new driver classification system is also making its debut, now no longer based on the absolute best time, as it was up to Zuera, but in WSK style. Tomorrow, Sarno's event continues with the Qualifying Heats.

OK: Second pole in a row for Taylor Barnard

Pneumatici: LeCont

  • Also in Sarno, Taylor Barnard (Rosberg Racing Academy - KR - IAME) confirms himself as the driver to beat on the flying lap in the OK category. The time of the Englishman, 55.506, is unapproachable for his opponents: Oliver Gray (Leclerc By Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who won here in the WSK Euro Series, is second with a time of 57.755, while Andreea Kimi Antonelli ( KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), the winner of the first round of the European Championship, follows with 55.804. Fourth position for Juho Valtanen (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), who had already shown that he liked the Neapolitan track by finishing third on the podium in the WSK Euro Series.

  • Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Kart Racing Department - Kosmic Kart - Vortex) takes fifth position, despite having actually recorded the second best overall time. The Italian precedes Alex Dunne (Birel ART Racing - BIrel ART - TM Racing) and Maya Weug (Birel ART Racing - BIrel ART - TM Racing), separated by two cents.

  • Jame Wharton (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) sets the second time of the third group and is eighth in the ranking. The last two free places in the top ten finally go to Jamie Day (Leclerc By Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) and Joe Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex).

  • Just outside the top ten we find the first driver of a private team, Nicolò Cuman (BM Karting Team - Parolin - IAME) who takes the whim of putting himself in front of Nikita Bedrin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), one of the undisputed protagonists of this season and third on the podium of Zuera.

  • Norton Andreasson (Ward racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), who in the Zuera qualification printed the exact same time as Barnard, today is 14th, ahead of the reigning OKJ World Champion Thomas Ten Brinke (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic Kart - Vortex ).

  • Hannes Janker (TB Racing Team - KR - IAME), on the shields at Zuera, is 17th today. Absent instead Lorenzo Travisanutto, who in recent weeks has also resolved the relationship with the Tony Kart Racing Team.


OKJ: First Pole of the season for Maxwell Dodds

Pneumatici: LeCont

  • In the end, the pole position of the OKJ, the absolute best time in qualifying, is taken by the driver who achieves the best time in the first group, that is the English Maxwell Dodds (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing), who with the time of 56.459 beats team mate Valerio Rinicella (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) by just 8 thousandths.

  • However, thanks to the new system for defining the starting grid adopted by the FIA ​​starting from this race, the second position will not be Rinicella, who started instead from pole in Zuera, but Ugo Ugochukwu (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), the best of the second fastest group with a time of 56.494 and second at the finish line of the Zuera final. The third position of Giovanni Trentin (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing), the best of the third group, certifies the state of form of the Parolin team.

  • The best of the fourth group, on the other hand, is William Macintyre (Leclerc By Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who wins the fourth position in front of Valerio Rinicella.

  • In sixth position, Nikola Tsolov (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) precedes the two Tony Kart of Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Bruno Del Pino (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex). Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR -IAME), on the other hand, is ninth.

  • Evan Giltaire (Sodikart - Sodi - TM Racing) is 10th. Out from the top10 we have Douwe Dedecker (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Keanu Al Azhari (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) and also Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), the winner of the first round in Spain.

  • Further back, more precisely in 17th position we find Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), third on the podium in Spain. Among others, Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) obtained 27th place at his debut in the category, while Igor Cepil's weekend (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) started badly, only 34th.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents