Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK and OKJ rd 2, Zuera: qualifying – Pole position for Egozi (OK) and Bouzar (OKJ)
Luca Basso
29 April 2022

[Translated with Google]

Three weeks after Round 1 in Portimao, the protagonists of the OK and OKJ categories take to the track in Zuera for Round 2 of the FIA Karting European Championship. 66 drivers present themselves at the start of the championship in the premier class of single-speed karts, while 69 compete in the “Junior”.

The usual qualifications took place on Friday, and then continued with the first qualifying heats, which will continue throughout the day on Saturday.

OK: first pole position for James Egozi in the category

Tires: MG Tires

  • With only one full season behind him in OKJ and his first year in OK, James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) gets his first pole position in the premier category of single-speed karts. The American, who took to the track in Group 1, records the best time of 1:00.327 and will start in front of everyone in the qualifying heats.

  • CRG Racing Team returns to the top positions with Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team - CRG - IAME), excellent first in group 3 with a time of 1:00.503 and second in the combined standings. After winning two weeks ago in the Champions of the Future Euro Series, Kean Nakamura Berta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) stands out in group 2 (1:00.521) and is third at the end of qualifying.

  • Confirmation also by Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) after the nice podium obtained at the "COFT", fourth. Once again fast in qualifying at Zuera Evan Giltaire (VDK Racing - KR - IAME), fifth.

  • Reigning OK World Champion Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is ready to redeem, after the dull weekend lived two weeks ago in Zuera. The Finn is sixth, ahead of Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), seventh and author of the pole at Round 2 of the Champions of the Future Euro Series, and Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), eighth.

  • Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) ranks in the top ten, as well as a surprising Nacho Tuñón (DPK Racing - KR - IAME), tenth. Rintaro Sato (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is at the foot of the Top 10, 11th, followed by Arthur Rogeon (VDK Racing - KR - IAME), 12th.

  • On the podium two weeks ago right here in Zuera, Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) starts the weekend with 13th position. Back Tomas Stolcermanis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), 26th, Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), 35th, Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), 38th and Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 43rd.

  • Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is also at the start, in the first race after the accident of the Champions of the Future Winter Series in Franciacorta on February 27th. The British driver finished 37th.


OKJ: coup in qualifying for Guillaume Bouzar

Tires: Vega

  • Friday's qualifying opens with the surprising pole position of Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), ahead of everyone thanks to the best time of 1:02.347 recorded in group 1. The Luxembourg driver is exactly one tenth of a second ahead Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), first in group 2 and second classified.

  • Arthur Dorison (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is also among the great surprises of qualifying: first in group 3, the Frenchman is third in the combined standings. Excellent performance for Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing), fourth, while Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) is the best of the Parolin Motorsport drivers in the standings, fifth.

  • Andres Cardenas (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) obtained the sixth position ahead of Nathan Tye (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing), sixth and in pole position two weeks ago at the Champions of the Future Euro Series in Zuera.

  • Maxens Verbrugge (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), eighth, Emanuele Olivieri (IPK Official Racing Tam), ninth, and Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing - Tony Kart Vortex), tenth, complete the Top 10 of qualifying.

  • The ranking continues with Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 11th, Edward Robinson (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing), 12th, Tobias Clausen (Falcon Racing Team - Falcon - IAME), 13th , Geramin Skulanov (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), 14th, Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), 15th, and René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), 16th.

  • Rearward Martin Molnar (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), 29th, Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), 30th, and Kirill Kutskov (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), 31st.


Explore these and many other
premium contents