Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK-OKJ rd 2 and Academy Trophy rd 1, Trinec: qualifying – Pole position for Gabriel Gomez (OK), Lewis Wherrell (OKJ) and Marius Barry-Berg (Academy)
Luca Basso
19 May 2023

[Translated with Google]

Almost two months after Round 1 in Valencia, the protagonists of the OK and OKJ categories take to the track in Třinec (Czech Republic) for Round 2 of the FIA Karting European Championship. 80 drivers will take part in the premier class of single-speed karts at the start of the championship, while 77 compete in the "Junior". They are also joined by 45 youngsters taking part in the first round of three of the FIA Karting Academy Trophy.

The usual qualifying sessions took place on Friday, followed by the first heats, which will end on Saturday afternoon.

OK: second consecutive pole position for Gabriel Gomez

Tyres: MG Tires

  • The script seen two weeks ago is repeated in Round 2 of the Champions of the Future Euro Series, which took place in Třinec: Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME) recorded the fastest lap ever in Friday's qualifying (51.618 seconds) and conquers the pole position, the second consecutive in the FIA Karting European Championship after the one obtained in Valencia.

  • Momentarily second in the championship, René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) is the fastest in the second qualifying group (51,774) and is positioned right behind Gomez in the combined standings. David Walther (Koski Motorsport – Tony Kart – Vortex) was also good, immediately behind the Dutch thanks to the first place in group 1 (51.860).

  • Nice surprise from Mark Dubnitski (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME) in fourth position, able to get behind two drivers of the caliber of Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM), fifth, and Alex Powell (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), sixth.

  • Seventh place for Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), followed by Ean Eyckmans (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), eighth, by Fionn McLaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), ninth, and by Jakub Kamenik (Gamoto – Tony Kart – TM). Just outside the Top 10 we find Miguel Costa (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM), 11th, Nathan Tye (Sodikart - Sodikart – TM), 12th, and Jimmy Helias (CRG Racing Team - CRG - IAME), 13th.

  • The dominator of Round 4 of the WSK Super Master Series, Thomas Strauven (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), is 14th in the combined classification, ahead of the reigning European champion Kean Nakamura Berta (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), 15th, and to the reigning world champion Matheus Morgatto (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM), 16th.

  • Arthur Poulain (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) and Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) occupy respectively the 17th and 18th place. More distant Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), OKJ 2022 world champion, 28th.

  • An uphill start to the weekend for Joseph Turney (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), winner of both Round 1 of the FIA Karting European Championship in Valencia and Round 2 of the Champions of the Future Euro Series in Třinec. The Briton, third in the championship, did not go beyond 36th place.


OKJ: Forza Racing one-two, Lewis Wherrell in pole position

Tyres: Vega

  • After his sensational retirement in the final of Round 2 of the Champions of the Future Euro Series, Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) is looking for a revenge. The Briton starts from a solid pole position in qualifying, thanks to a time of 52.848 obtained in group 2.

  • Forza Racing hits the double in qualifying with Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM), in his second presence with the British team. We recall that the Belgian, first in group 1 (52.954), took pole position two weeks ago at the "COTF", just ahead of Wherrell.

  • Oleksandr Bondarev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) confirms that he is at ease on the Třinec track. In fact, the Ukrainian takes third position with a lap in 53.177 seconds and is third in the combined standings. The current championship leader, Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), is no less able to gain the momentary fourth position.

  • A real coup for the outsider Tobias Szecsenyi (Hagemann Racing – Exprit – TM), fifth in qualifying and almost as fast as the riders in front of him. Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) and Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) are respectively sixth and seventh, while Maria Germano Neto (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) snatches the eighth place in the standings .

  • Among the top ten we also find Jack Iliffe (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM), ninth, and Tiziano Monza (Shamick Europe – Parolin – TM), tenth. Very little out of the Top 10 the two Swedes Scott Kin Lindblom (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), 11th, and Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex). Followed by Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – Vortex), 13th, Ethan Lennon (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM), 14th, Matias Orjuela (Leclerc by Lennox Racing – Birel Art – TM), 15th, and Scott Marsh (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM), 16th.

  • Further back we find David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 17th, and Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 18th. It does not go beyond the 41st place Taym Saleh (Sauber Academy – KR – IAME), author of the pole position of Round 1 in Valencia.


Academy: Marius Barry-Berg narrowly beats Arthur Broughan

Chassis: Exprit / Engine: Vortex / Tyres: Vega

  • Starting from this year, the FIA Karting Academy Trophy will no longer support the KZ and KZ2 classes but, instead, will share the paddock with the OK and OKJ categories. Marius Barry-Berg (Norway) opens this new course with the pole position of 53.867, beating Arthur Broughan (New Zealand), second, by just one thousandth of a second.

  • Markas Silkunas (Lithuania) is not as quick as the first two, however he takes third place in the combined standings. Sebastian Garzon (Colombia) and Marti Hugo (Spain) are immediately behind, fourth and fifth respectively, while Max Walton and Wojciech Woda (Poland) occupy sixth and seventh position.

  • In the Top 10, space also for Wojciech Woda (Poland), 8th, Aleksander Uusneem (Lithuania), 9th. and Vasileios Apostodilis (Greece), tenth.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents