Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK-OKJ rd 2 and Academy Trophy rd 1, Val d'Argenton: qualifications – Pole position for Cosma Cristofor (OK), Martinese (OKJ) and Allemann (Academy)
Luca Basso
26 April 2024

[Translated with Google]

Two weeks after the second round of the Champions of the Future Euro Series, the drivers of the OK and OKJ categories return to the track at the Circuit du Val d'Argenton (France) for Round 2 of the FIA Karting European Championship. The weekend kicks off with a notable turnout of drivers in both main classes: 87 in OKJ and 76 in OK. Furthermore, the FIA Karting Academy Trophy also gets underway with 50 entries.

The usual qualifications took place on Friday, before continuing with the first qualifying heats, which will continue throughout Saturday.

OK: David Cosma Cristofor uses the dry track to his advantage

Tires: Maxxis

  • Already the author of the pole position two weeks ago at the Champions of the Future Euro Series, David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) once again precedes all his rivals in the combined Senior qualifying standings. The Romanian recorded a time of 48.999 seconds in group 1, the only one on the track with the asphalt still dry.
  • Shortly before the group 2 round, rain hits the French track, effectively preventing anyone from being able to replicate Cosma Cristofor's time. Matheus Morgatto (CL Racing Team – Birel Art – TM Kart) mastered these conditions perfectly and, with a time of 1:02.530 seconds, took second place. Third we find Fionn McLaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), the fastest of group 3.
  • Dmitry Matveev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) fails to beat Cosma Cristofor by a matter of 66 thousandths of a second and places himself fourth overall. Joseph Turney (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) follows in fifth place, ahead of Oleksandr Bondarev (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), sixth, and the winner of the first round Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), seventh.
  • Solid performance by Salim Hanna (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), eighth. Positive results also for Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), ninth, and for David Walther (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), tenth.
  • The outsider Martti Ritonen (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM Kart) took 11th place. Immediately behind are Freddie Lloyd (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart), 12th, Vivek Kanthan (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), 13th, and Guillaume Bouzar (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), 14th .
  • Sebastiano Pavan's (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) weekend begins with a 16th place in qualifying. 21st Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), 24th Taym Saleh (Sauber Academy – KR – IAME), 25th Davide Bottaro (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), 27th Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME). Ean Eyckmans (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM Kart) further behind, 54th.


OKJ: Iacopo Martinese is ready for redemption

Tires: Maxxis

  • The previous round in Valencia had not been easy for Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), in a completely different form here in France. In fact, the Italian is the fastest driver in qualifying thanks to a time of 50.916 seconds achieved in group 1.
  • Somewhat surprisingly, Daniel Kelleher (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) is first in group 2 (51.539 seconds), with the rain bothering all the protagonists in the final minutes of the session. The Irishman is therefore second in the combined classification, ahead of Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), third with a time of 1:02.918 set in wet track conditions.
  • The two teammates Roman Kamyab (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart) and Paul Andriotis (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart) classified fourth and fifth respectively. Noah Baglin (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) begins his adventure in the European championship with Prema Racing placing sixth.
  • The Top 10 also sees Jarrett Clark (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), seventh, Vladimir Ivannikov (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM Kart), eighth, Dean Hoogendoorn (AKM Motorsport – KR – IAME), ninth, and the champion reigning world champion Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), tenth.
  • Further back are Rocco Coronel (VictoryLane – KR – IAME), 14th, and Filippo Sala (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart), 17th. Far behind are Sebastian Lehtimaki (Koski Motorsport – Tony Kart – TM Kart), 39th, the winner of the COTF weekend Joel Pohjola (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), 48th, and Niklas Schaufler (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), 50°.


Academy Trophy: Dan Allemann dances in the rain

Frame: Exprit | Engine: Vortex | Tires: Maxxis

  • Now in its 15th edition, the FIA Karting Academy Trophy awards the first pole position of the year to Dan Allemann (Switzerland), the best in group 1 with a time of 1:05.654. The Swiss, good at preceding everyone on a wet track, beat his rival Sirikhett Sirimongjolkasem (Thailand), first in group 2 with a time of 1:05.941.
  • Joel Taipale (Finland) took third place, ahead of Gilles Herman (Belgium), fourth, and Sacha van 't Pad Bosch (Netherlands), fifth.
  • Sixth position for Turner Brown (United States of America), seventh for Nikolaos Karagiannis (Greece) and eighth for Theodor Toobal (Estonia).
  • Finally, among the top ten we find Aleix Pinera Rusinol (Spain), ninth, and Fedor Sedelnikov.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents