Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK-OKJ rd 3 and Academy Trophy rd 2, Slovak Karting Center: heats – The leaders are Morgatto (OK), Schaufler (OKJ) and Herman (Academy)
Jacopo Colombo
22 June 2024

[Translated with Google]

Track activity continues in this Round 3 of the FIA ​​Karting European Championship OK-OKJ at the Slovak Karting Center (Slovakia). After qualifying and the first qualifying heats on Friday, the last heats were held on Saturday for both the OK and OKJ categories, which decided the starting grids for the prefinals on Sunday. The rain soaked the first races of the day, giving way to the sun in the afternoon, which dried the track and re-established the conditions of Friday.

As regards Round 2 of the FIA ​​Karting Academy Trophy, the last heats will be held on Sunday morning, decisive for the afternoon final.

OK: Morgatto leads the standings at the end of the heats

Tyres: Maxxis

  • Matheus Morgatto (CL Racing Team – Birel ART – TM Kart) took the lead of the group at the end of the heats on Saturday. The standard bearer of the CL Racing Team, with always top 3 results in the heats, managed thanks to his consistency to put himself in front of everyone, putting himself among the protagonists on Sunday.
  • Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME) finishes second. Three victories and a second place were not enough to make him gain the leadership: a 13th place weighed on Ramaekers' ranking, due to a 5" penalty for incorrect positioning of the front spoiler at the end of the third heat in which he participated.
  • Third in the standings is Louis Iglesias (CRG – CRG – IAME). The very young CRG driver collected four seconds and a third place during the heats, thus being rewarded for his consistency.
  • Behind him Jimmy Helias (VictoryLane – KR – IAME), fourth. Fifth place for Friday's poleman, Noah Monteiro (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), who despite three victories and a second place, paid for a retirement due to an accident at the start of the second heat on Saturday morning.
  • Monteiro is followed by the championship leader, Joe Turney (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), sixth, who will certainly be in play for the victory tomorrow. Behind him, Dmitry Matveev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), seventh, and David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), eighth. 
  • Closing the top 10 we find Leo Nilsson (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), in ninth place, and Kaï Rillaerts (Sodikart – Sodi – TM Kart), in tenth.
  • Then followed by Peter Stiller (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 11th, Scott Kin Lindblom (Fusion Motorsport – KR – IAME), 12th, Hannah Salim (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), 13th, Miguel Costa (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), 14th, and Fionn Mclaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME) in 15th place.
  • The second and third in the championship are delayed in the standings: Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), in third place in the overall standings, is 16th, while Gabriel Gomez (CRG – CRG – IAME) closes the day on Saturday in 17th place.


OKJ: Draw between Schaufler and Van Langendonck

Tyres: Maxxis

  • The leadership at the end of the heats is head to head between Niklas Schaufler (DPK Racing – KR – IAME) and Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart). The three victories, added to a second and a third place for both, place the two drivers at the top of the standings on equal points, with Schaufler beating Van Langendonck thanks to the best result obtained in the Qualifying Practice on Friday (5th against 16th ).  The two will start from pole position in their respective Super Heats on Sunday.
  • Third position for the third in the championship standings, Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), who precedes Filippo Sala (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart), fourth in the general ranking. For Sala, constant in the first four heats, with two victories, a second and a third place, the last heat was decisive, where he was involved in the brawl that did not allow him to do better than a sixth place.
  • Fifth position for Arjen Kraeling (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) who always obtained results in the top 5 in all the heats in which he took part. Behind him Rocco Coronel (VictoryLane – KR – IAME), sixth, after third place in the final of round 2, Roman Kamyab (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM Kart), seventh, and eighth Ilie Crisan (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex).
  • Closing out the top 10 are Joel Pohjola (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex), ninth, and Jensen Burnett (Fusion Motorsport – KR – IAME) in tenth place.
  • Followed by Noah Baglin (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), 11th, Bosco Arias (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), 12th, Scott Marsh (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex), 13th, Kenzo Craigie (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), 14th, and Louis Cochet (VictoryLane – KR – IAME) closing the list of top 15. 
  • The comeback of the second in the championship, Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), stopped in 31st place at the end of the heats on Saturday. Starting from 72nd place after the qualifying tests on Friday, Costoya was the protagonist of numerous overtakings during all the heats in which he took part, moving up the group several positions in the standings.


Academy Trophy: Herman confirms himself as leader also in the heats

Chassis: Exprit | Engine: Vortex | Tyres: Maxxis

  • After the pole position obtained on Friday, Gilles Herman (Belgium) confirms himself as the driver to beat in this Slovak weekend. With a victory and a second place in the heats, the Belgian puts himself ahead of everyone, preceding Joel Taipale (Finland), second, and Emilio Bernd (Germany) to close the top 3.
  • Fourth place for Simba Motoda (Japan), after also taking the victory in the first heat of the day. Fifth position for Marim Barros Meneses (Portugal), preceding Fausto Arnaudo (Argentina), sixth, and Theodor Toobal (Estonia), seventh.
  • Eighth place for Nojus Stasionis (Lithuania), ahead of Turner Brown (United States), ninth. Fredrik Flood-Engebretsen (Norway) then closes the top 10, tenth.
  • The championship leaders are further behind in the standings: Jakub Gasparovic (Slovakia) is 17th, while Dan Allemann (Switzerland) occupies 20th place.

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents