Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship rd 2, Essay: OKJ Final - Slater is penalized, Ferreira wins
Yanek Sterzel
30 May 2021

Tires: MG Tires

[translated with Google]

  • From pole position, Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) sprints well and keeps the first position, so as to gain precious meters on his pursuers, led by the trio of KR Motorsport formed by Kirill Kutskov (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME).

  • Ferreira has something more than his teammate Kutskov but he can't find the right way to pass him. A compact group is thus formed in contention for the second place which favors the return of Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) and Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex).

  • Ferreira manages to overtake Kutskov for second place and tries to catch up with Slater, but fails to do so. Slater wins with +0.823 ahead of Ferreira but is penalized by 10 seconds. Too bad for the British, with Ricky Flynn Motorsport not appealing. Ferreira is therefore the winner of the OKJ final.

  • Kutskov ends the final in second place, while celebrating Stolcermanis' first European podium after a positive weekend in his second race in the European championship. Popov makes a recovery of 9 positions and is classified in fourth place. Powell was slightly subdued in the final: he was overtaken by Stolcermanis and Popov and finished fifth.

  • With the penalty of Slater, Arthur Poulain (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex), sixth, is the best Kosmic Kart chassis and also the best French driver in the standings.

  • Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) hits the top 10 in the final and finishes in seventh place. Excellent comeback also for James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), from 17th to eighth. Egozi also marks the second best fastest lap of the final which, instead, goes into the hands of Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex), ninth in the standings.

  • Kai Sorensen (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) closes in tenth place, while Slater drops to 11th place with a 10-second penalty. Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) climbs 11 positions and is 12th. William Macintyre (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), on the other hand, falls 8 positions, third in Friday's qualifying and fifth at the end of the qualifying heats.

  • Also back August Therbo (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), 14th with +22 positions, Konstantin Krapin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), 15th with +11 positions, and Berta Kean Nakamura (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing), 16th with +13 positions.


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents