Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship rd 2, Val d'Argenton – OK Final: Turney wins and is the new leader of the championship
Luca Basso
28 April 2024

[Translated with Google]

Tires: Maxxis

  • Joseph Turney's (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) first victory finally arrives in the Senior category after the injury suffered at last year's FIA Karting World Championship in Franciacorta. Victorious in the morning's super heat A and starting from pole position, the Briton managed the race from the start to the checkered flag, at the same time keeping Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart) at bay. Thanks to this success, the KR Motorsport driver takes the lead of the championship.
  • Third in Valencia, rookie Wherrell amazes everyone once again with a solid second place, after having been constantly in the wake of his rival Turney for the entire duration of the race.
  • With an overtaking on lap 20 on Matheus Morgatto (CL Racing Team – Birel Art – TM Kart), Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME) grabbed third position, but after the awards ceremony he received a five-second penalty for a overtaking under yellow flag regime. The winner of the Valencia event drops to fourth place, thus granting the lowest step of the podium to Morgatto.
  • Salim Hanna (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) and Fionn McLaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME) precede David Walther (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) at the finish line, but the two of them also have to serve a five-second penalty: the first for overtaking with yellow flags, the second for the front nose in an incorrect position.
  • In this way, Walther takes home fifth place, ahead of an excellent Andy Consani (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM Kart), sixth, the wildcard Aaron Garcia (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), seventh, and Louis Iglesias (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), eighth. Hanna and McLaughlin are ninth and tenth respectively.
  • Jindrich Pesl (Monster K Factory Team – CRG – TM Kart) comes close to making the top-10, 11th. A little further back we find Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), 15th. The performance of Oleksandr Bondarev (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) was subdued, dropping from tenth to 23rd place. Ean Eyckmans (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM Kart) was instead forced to retire with six laps to go.
  • Premature end for Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), winner here in Val d'Argenton two weeks ago on the occasion of Round 2 of the Champions of the Future Euro Series. The Belgian comes into contact with Davide Bottaro (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME) and receives a ten second penalty at the end of the race for having caused the accident.
  • In a carambola at the first corner of the first lap, Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport – TM Kart), leader of the COTF ranking, and David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), author of the pole position in qualifying, also end up out of the running.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents