Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting World Championship, Portimao, OKJ Final: Freddie Slater wins at the last corner
Max Bernardi
08 November 2020

The Englishman of Ricky Flynn Motorsport wins a no holds barred duel with Arvid Lindblad, who was then penalized. Tuukka Taponen and Harry Burgoyne complete the podium after Christian Ho went off track.

Tires: MG

  • The 2020 World Champion title of the OKJ category goes to Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex), who in the rain that poured down the Kartodromo Internacional do Algarve gave everything to defend the first position from the attacks of a very determined Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME).

  • The driver Ricky Flynn Motorsport pulls off an excellent start, in which he manages to pick off Christian Ho (Sauber Karting Team - KR - IAME) and Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber Karting Team - KR - IAME) after only two corners and take the lead. Lindblad, for his part, first manages to get rid of Harry Burgoyne (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and then of Christian Ho before joining his compatriot in the lead of the race and attacking him on the very last lap.

  • The battle is intense and it is Christian Ho who pays the highest price, having rejoined the two leaders, but ended up off the track due to the squabble. A squabble that will go on until the last corner, where Slater completes the last overtake of the victory over Lindblad ,trailing at the finish line by just 0.075 seconds.

  • However, Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Harry Burgoyne (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) will be on the podium by virtue of the penalty imposed on Lindblad which will demote him to fifth position, behind Christian Ho .
    Maceo Capietto (Kosmic Kart Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex) concludes an excellent weekend with the sixth final place ahead of Nikola Tsolov (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) and Ugo Ugochukwu.

  • Ariel Elkin (VPK Racing - KR - IAME) recovers 8 positions and moves ahead of Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Departement - Kosmic - Vortex) who closes the top ten.
    Great comebacks also for Schu Dozono (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) who recovers 23 positions to finish 12th, Alexander Gubenko (Kosmic Racing Departement - Kosmic - Vortex), 14th, who recovers 18, and Aiden Neate (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) with 19 positions gained.

  • Long the list of retirees due to a crash at the first corner. Several protagonists of this weekend are among those involved: Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), Connor Zilisch (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), Igor Cepil (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and Keanu Al-azhari (DPK Racing - KR - IAME).Results


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents