Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Rain of pole positions and victories for Vortex in the WSK Open Cup
27 September 2021

On the occasion of the first round at the South Garda Karting in Lonato, the DST engine hits the pole position and takes a victory in the OK class. A double win for the DJT engine in the OKJ, also with the best time in qualifying.

OK – The WSK Open Cup of Vortex starts immediately with a victory in the master class of single speed karts. Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) jumps like a feline at the turning off of the lights and takes the lead of the final. With a superlative drive, the British driver keeps the first position until the chequered flag and, with this result, he also celebrates the temporary first position in the championship. Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) starts from the second position and covers the shoulders of his teammate Turney, until he gets the lowest step of the podium after 21 laps of the race. In the Top 5 there are two other Vortex engines: Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing) gets a positive fourth place, while Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Racing Department) finishes fifth and signs, moreover, the pole position in the Friday's qualifying session. At his debut in the category, Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart Racing Team) starts from the back and finds his way to recover 12 positions: the Russian thus finishes among the best ten drivers of the final. Herolind Nuredini (KSM Official Racing Team) finishes inside the Top 15, while Rintaro Sato (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) starts from the back of the grid and recovers 17 positions. At the final’s starting grid there are also, in order: Hugo Holm (Ward Racing), Liu Ruiqi (Kosmic Racing Department), Olaf Tyrakowki (Amo-Racing Team) and Sebastian Kinnmark (Ward Racing). Unlucky retirement for Bruno Del Pino (Tony Kart Racing Team).

OKJ - The DJT engine pushes James Egozi towards his first success in the "Junior" category. The American driver opens the weekend at Lonato with a sound pole position in the qualifying and four victories and two fastest laps on Saturday, out of a total of five qualifying heats. Egozi, therefore, is a candidate to be one of the protagonists of the final and does not disappoint the expectations: already in the first passages he takes the lead of the race and does not leave it until the finishing line. Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team), newly champion of the WSK Euro Series, completes the double win with the second position, 0.890 seconds far from his teammate. Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department) exploits the potential of the OTK Kart Group’s engine and fights for a position in the Top 5: the Belgian finishes seventh. Two positions ahead compared to the starting grid allow Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport) to conquer a position in the Top 10. Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team) gains three positions in the ranking and finishes close to the Top 15. Next in the final ranking are: Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team), Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing), Edgar Anpilogov (Ricky Flynn Motorsport). Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team), Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team), Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) did not finish the race.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents