Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Speed and bad luck for Vortex at Adria
07 March 2021

The engines of the OTK Kart Group face the first round of the WSK Super Master Series at the Adria Karting Raceway, fighting for the podium in the OK and OKJ classes. An important result fades away in KZ2.

KZ2 - Unlucky episodes for the drivers with Vortex engines in the gearbox class. Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team), champion in force of the WSK Super Master Series, gets a second place in the qualifyings, followed by three victories, three fastest laps and a second place in the qualifying heats. The Finnish driver, once reached the final, is involved in a collision on the first lap, forcing him to stop. Pedro Hiltbrand (Tony Kart Racing Team) recovers six positions in the final with the RTZ and RSZ engines, despite few overtaking points. Jean Luyet (D.E.L. Motorsport) follows the Spanish driver: +6 points compared to the position on the starting grid.

OK - Eight are the DST engines entering the final in the master class of single speed karts, almost 25% of the total grid. Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing), already protagonist in the WSK Champions Cup with a great recovery, gains four positions in the final and reaches the top ten with an eighth final place. Markus Kajak (Ward Racing) almost reaches the top ten, finishing in eleventh position (with a +6 on the scoreboard). Even better performance, in terms of recovery, is that of Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Kart Racing Department) who gains 12 positions compared to the start. But the prize of best climber goes to the world champion in force Callum Bradshaw (Tony Kart Racing Team), who climbed up not less than 16 positions. In the final also Sebastian Gravlund (Kosmic Racing Department), Charlie Wurz (Exprit Racing Team), Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing) and Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team).

OKJ - Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) misses the podium with the DJT engine, fourth at the end of the 16 laps of the final. The British driver stands out in the qualifying heats with five victories out of five races, even collecting a fast lap and an important success in the pre-final. 11 are the engines of ours in the decisive race of the weekend, with four of them in the top ten: besides the already mentioned Slater, Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) is sixth, while Maksimilian Popov and Konstantin Krapin (both Ward Racing) are respectively eighth and ninth. Following, in order of ranking, we find: Manuel Scognamiglio (Gamoto), Alexander Gubenko (Kosmic Kart Racing Department), Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Kart Racing Department), Edgar Anpilogov (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport). Bad luck for James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team), among the fastest drivers of the weekend but both forced to stop because of some collisions with the rivals.

MINI - Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team) gains a victory in the heats with the MCX engine, besides two podiums and two fifth places. The French driver, after a fifth place in the pre-final, fights in the final to get a place among the top ten, finishing for a few tenths in eleventh position.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents