Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Vortex On The Podium In The First Round Of The Wsk Final Cup In Lonato
23 October 2018

Great results for Vortex engines in OKJ, thanks to Nikita Bedrin and Kirill Smal, and in KZ2 for Simo Puhakka and Marco Ardigò

The first appointment of the 2018 WSK Final Cup, taking place on the South Garda Karting track in Lonato, showed off the excellent performances of Vortex engines. 8 out of 24 registered drivers (33%) chose the RKZ engines, in the KZ2 class, precisely, and among them, the Tony Kart Racing Team standard-bearers stood out brilliantly. First of all the current winner of the 2018 International Supercup, Matteo Viganò, who centered the fifth time in the qualifying at the beginning of the weekend and then played a leading role with a second, a third and a fourth place in the eliminatory heats. Behind him, his teammates have always proved to be up to the situation: Simo Puhakka, Marco Ardigò and Alessio Piccini together with Jeremy Iglesias (Formula K Racing Team) and Francesco Celenta (Praga Racing Team) formed the group of six Vortex drivers in the Top 10 at the end of the heats. In Final, instead, Simo Puhakka and Marco Ardigò got the better of their opponents and ended the decisive race of the weekend at the second and third place respectively.

Vortex engines distinguished themselves in the OK Junior category too, where the performance of our DDJ have been chosen by 33% of the drivers actually present on the grid (27 out of 81). Among them, Nikita Bedrin was absolutely the fastest at the beginning of the weekend with a time of 47”567: the Russian driver of the Tony Kart Racing Team conquered three victories in the heats and a subsequent second place in the final, where he sprang forward from the fourth position in the grid. Bedrin, however, was not the only one standing out on the South Garda Karting in Lonato: at the end of the heats of OKJ class, actually, other four Vortex drivers came in the Top 10: James Wharton (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) with two victories in the heats together with a silver and a bronze medal, Thomas Ten Brinke (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) with a first and two second positions, Laurens Van Hoepen (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Kirill Smal (Ward Racing), both currently owning a third place in the heats.
In final, instead, five Vortex drivers centered the Top 10: Nikita Bedrin, Kirill Smal (3rd), Matthew Rees (6th - Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Thomas Ten Brinke (8th) and Artem Severiukhin (10th - Ward Racing).

In OK category, our Vortex engines got a great success even before getting to the track, since they have been chosen by 28 out of 59 registered drivers (47%). Among them, Dino Beganovic (Ward Racing) stood out brilliantly, managing to center the second time in the qualifying and gaining a victory and a third place in the eliminatory heats. Ahead of him in the Top 10 of the final heats, only Nicklas Nielsen (Schumacher Racing Team), author of two second and one third places. Other two Vortex drivers followed them: Zane Maloney (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) with a victory in the heat and Noah Millel (Tony Kart Racing Team) with a bronze medal. In Final, instead, three Vortex drivers placed in the Top 10: Nicklas Nielsen (7th), Zane Maloney (8th) and Harry Thompson (10th - Ricky Flynn Motorsport).

Explore these and many other
premium contents