Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Vortex, win and title in Lonato at the WSK Final Cup
21 December 2022

In the second and final round at South Garda Karting, our DJT engine wins the final reserved to the OKJ class, while the DST conquers the championship title in the OK class.

OK – The weekend jumps with a strong start in the master class of single-speed karts, with David Walther (Koski Motorsport) on pole position ahead of Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) by a few tenths of a second. In the qualifying heats we collect 4 victories (practically 2/3 of the scheduled races), in addition to 5 podium places and 2 fastest laps, joined by two more successes in the two pre-finals of Sunday morning.

Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) starts the decisive final on pole position, thanks also to the excellent results achieved during the weekend. The British driver runs a clever race and claims second place under the chequered flag: with this podium, he becomes champion and adds to his trophy wall his third title of the year, after winning the WSK Super Master Series and the Champions of the Future Euro Series.

Our DST engine also conquers a Top-5 result with Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing), while Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team) shines with a 13-place comeback and finishes inside the top 10. A top-10 result also for James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team), the latter author of a climb of 16 positions compared to the starting grid. Nando Weixelbaumer (Ward Racing), Maksimilian Popov (Koski Motorsport), Strauven, Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport), Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team), Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing) and Walther also attended the final.

In addition to the title, during the championship Vortex achieves 1 pole position in qualifying, 8 victories, 11 podiums and 6 fastest laps (out of 12) in the qualifying heats, 3 successes in the pre-finals and 2 podiums in the finals.

OKJ - Three DJT engines take the top five positions of the ranking, already in qualifying. During the qualifying heats, our engines hit 1 win, 8 podiums and 2 fastest laps: worthy of note is the Vortex hat-trick in the B-E heat, also combined with the best lap. At the end of the pre-finals, then, there are two drivers inside the Top 5: Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Oliver Kinnmark (Koski Motorsport).

The last race of the weekend sees around 30% of the starting grid made up of Vortex-powered drivers. In the early laps, Tarnvanichkul fights for the lead and takes it just after half race. The OKJ World Champion in force holds the lead until the chequered flag and takes victory in the second round, as well as the second place in the championship.

Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) finishes inside the Top 10, however he is subject to a 5-second penalty for having his front spoiler in the wrong position. Following in the standing we find Elliot Kaczynski (Ward racing), Sebastian Lehtimaki (Koski Motorsport), Alp Hasan Aksoy (Tony Kart Racing Team), Alfie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Oliver Kinnmark (Koski Motorsport), Guy Elbag (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and David Cosma-Cristofor (Ricky Flynn Motorsport).

Vortex's final championship haul is of 5 wins, 16 podiums, 5 fastest laps in the eliminatory heats and one victory in the final.

KZ2 - Noah Milell (Tony Kart Racing Team), among the best RSZ/RTZ-powered drivers on the track, conquers two third places in the qualifying heats and a victory in Prefinal B. The Swedish driver’s results are also accompanied by Tom Leuillet's (Tony Kart Racing Team) third place in Prefinal B and a podium in the eliminatory heats signed by Alexander Schmitz (Alexander Schmitz).

In the final, Milell, after his success in the pre-final, is ready to fight for the victory, however, the frantic opening stages hinder the 2021 KZ world champion and reigning vice-champion. At the end of the 21 laps scheduled, Milell finishes inside the Top 10 and is second in the championship. Leuillet is the second classified driver with our engine, followed by Schmitz and Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing).

With the WSK Final Cup, the 2022 racing season comes to an end. A year that has seen Vortex's trophy wall enriched with numerous international titles in all categories:

- FIA Karting World Championship OKJ
- WSK Euro Series OKJ
- WSK Final Cup OK
- WSK Super Master Series OK
- WSK Super Master Series OKJ
- Champions of the Future Euro Series OK
- Champions of the Future Winter Series KZ2
- Champions of the Future Winter Series OKJ

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents