Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Champions Cup, Adria: heats – Renaudin (KZ2), Camara (OK), Al Dhaheri (OKJ), Lammers (MINI) are the leaders
Max Bernardi
20 February 2021

The WSK Champions Cup, the first round of international karting 2021, continues at the Adria Karting Raceway. After the first day of Friday, the starting grids of the pre-finals for the KZ2, OK and OKJ categories have been decided on Saturday. We will have to wait the last heats on Sunday morning to have the MINI grid.

KZ2: Adrien Renaudin still on top with Sodikart

Pneumatici: Vega

  • Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing) is confirmed again today as one of the best drivers of this WSK Champions Cup. The French driver, after obtaining the pole position yesterday, will also start in front of the grid in the Prefinal A, thanks to two wins and a third place.

  • Excellent debut for Francesco Celenta (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), in the first race with Parolin Motorsport. Despite the same Renaudin’s penalty points, the Italian is second but in pole position for Prefinal B. Also, Viktor Gustaffson (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), reigning European champion, gets the same score as the first two, but ranks third in the overall.

  • Martijn van Leeuven (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) is fourth at the end of the heats, ahead of Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Juho Valtanen (KR Motorsport - KR - TM Racing).

  • Douglas Lundberg (Renda Motorsport - Birel Art - TM Racing) is the best climber in the KZ2 category. The Swede gains 15 positions, finishing ninth in the general ranking. In front of him: Stan Pex (KR Motorsport - KR - TM Racing), seventh; Arthur Carbonnel (CPB Sport - Sodikart - TM Racing), eighth.

  • Technical troubles for Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME): the Italian, second in the general classification of yesterday's qualifying, retires in the second heat after just one lap completed. Similar problems also for Senna van Walstijn (CPB Sport - Sodikart - TM Racing), 19th.


OK: KR Motorsport hat-trick, Rafael Camara precedes Brando Badoer

Pneumatici: LeCont

  • After finishing fourth in the general qualifying standings, Rafael Camara (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) takes the first position for tomorrow's Prefinal A. Yesterday, the Brazilian driver scored a victory in the first heat, then repeating today with another success and also collecting a second and a fourth place.

  • Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) delights everyone with an excellent performance on his debut in the OK category. The Italian is the other poleman for the Prefinal B, coming in the standings behind Camara thanks to a victory, a second and two third places.

  • Arvin Lindblad (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), author of the best time in yesterday's qualifying, lose the lead. The British licensed driver finish third in the overall standings, taking a win, a second, a third and a fourth place.

  • Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) closes at the foot of the podium, taking home a victory in the heats. The Tony Kart Racing Team driver, first among the non-KR Motorsport drivers in the standings, precedes Nikola Tsolov (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) and Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber Orlen Karting Team - KR - IAME), this one author of a success in the heats. Recall that the American is making his debut in the category and is the reigning European champion of OKJ.

  • Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is only 15th, still in shape today but betrayed by a technical problem in the third heat of the day; the Italian still scores two victories on his personal schedule. World champion Callum Bradshaw (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is still struggling: 25th, but with a seventh place as today's best result in the heats.


OKJ: super Rashid Al Dhaheri, Harley Keeble also stands out

Pneumatici: Vega

  • Two wins, two seconds and a third place is the loot obtained by Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), that earns pole position for tomorrow's Prefinal A. The UAE driver recovers eight positions with respect to the general qualifying standings.

  • Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) also stood out in the heats, even winning four of the five races scheduled for the OKJ category. The British driver, however, will start from pole position in Prefinal B.

  • Berta Kean Nakamura (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) obtained the third place in the general classification, collecting two victories, a second, a third and a fifth place. Just the last heat relegated the Japanese from the momentary first position.

  • A retirement heavily conditions Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex), in pole position in yesterday's qualifying; the German is only 13th. The helm of Ricky Flynn Motorsport's best driver passes into the Dion Gowda’s hand (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex), sixth. The Indonesian succeeds Lucas Fluxa (KidiX - KR - IAME), fourth, and Maksim Orlov (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), fifth.

  • Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) is also behind in the standings. The 2020 WSK Open Cup winner climbs the podium three times in the heats, but a retirement in the fourth race relegates him to 25th place. Maciej Gladysz (Sauber Orlen Karting Team - KR - IAME), the other winner of the WSK Open Cup but in the MINI category, is even 33rd, also blocked by a retirement.


MINI: René Lammers momentary leader of the general classification

Pneumatici: Vega

  • With one heat left to go on Sunday morning, René Lammers (Babyrace Driver Academy - Parolin - IAME) is the best driver in the MINI category. The Dutchman gets three wins and a second place.

  • Emanuele Olivieri (Formula K Serafini - IPK - TM Racing) remains in the wake, author of the pole position in yesterday's qualifying. The Italian, with one victory and three third places, temporarily has the same penalty points as Kilian Josseron (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - IAME), who collects a victory, a second, a third and a fourth place.

  • Undici posizioni guadagnate da parte di Niklas Schaufler (Emme Racing – EKS – TM Racing), quarto nella classifica generale con una vittoria all’attivo nelle heat, seguito in classifica da Pesl Jindrich (Babyrace Driver Academy – Parolin – IAME) e da Griffin Peebles (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR – Iame).

  • Niklas Schaufler (Emme Racing - EKS - TM Racing) gained 11 positions and is fourth in the overall standings with a victory in the heats, followed in the standings by Pesl Jindrich (Babyrace Driver Academy - Parolin - IAME) and Griffin Peebles (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - Iame).

  • Tiziano Monza (Sauber Orlen Karting Team - KR - IAME) also stands out in the heats for a remarkable comeback: from 30th to seventh place with three heavy wins. After the chain breaking in yesterday's qualifying, Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) does not give up and recovers a record number of 92 positions. The Spaniard is unleashed in the heats, finishing once even sixth; he is currently in 24th place.

Provisional results

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents