Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Champions Cup, Lonato – OKJ and OKN-J finals: The winners are Schaufler (OKJ) and Ruykov (OKN-J)
Luca Basso
21 January 2024

[Translated with Google]

OKJ: Niklas Schaufler takes a brilliant victory

Tires: Vega

  • Niklas Schaufler's (DPK Racing – KR – IAME) 2024 season is off to a great start. The Austrian, from second place, remained in the top positions after starting from the outside line and, on the sixth lap, took the reins of the race. From that moment on, the DPK Racing driver gradually increased his lead and reached the checkered flag alone.
  • Filippo Sala (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM) leads the race during the first laps, after which he is unable to contain Schaufler. On the third to last lap he also had to give up second place to the reigning world champion Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) and the Italian therefore finished in third place.
  • In the lead after the first lap, Rocco Coronel (VL Karting – KR – IAME) had to give way to the more experienced Sala, Schaufler and Van Langendonck, however he achieved a solid fourth position in his second appearance in OKJ.
  • Great protagonist of the qualifying heats and author of a second place in prefinal A, Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) does not prove to be as effective as in the previous days and battles with Roman Kamyab (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM) for fifth place. In the end the Spaniard prevails over the British.
  • Excellent debut for Dean Hoogendorn (AKM Motorsport – KR – IAME), seventh, followed in the standings by Henry Domain (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM), eighth, and by Mats Van Rooijen (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), ninth . With a comeback of 7 positions, Qarrar Firhand (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) achieved tenth place.
  • 11th place for Arjen Kraling (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 12th Vladimir Ivannikov (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM), 13th Friday's polesitter Borys Lyzen (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM). However, Endo Arada Rooijen (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex) withdrew.


OKN-J: breathtaking success for Lyuboslav Ruykov

Tires: Vega

  • In a final fought down to the last metre, the winner was Lyuboslav Ruykov (Zanchi Motorsport – Tony Kart – TM). The Bulgarian did well to take the lead after a few corners, but in the final laps he had to contend with a fierce Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM).
  • Taking advantage of the battle between Ruykov and Cosma Cristofor, the group of immediate pursuers – led by Valerio Viapiana (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR – IAME) and Alex Molota (Firefly Racing Team – Exprit – TM) – catches up with the leading duo and begins a 'exciting brawl.
  • Cosma Cristofor tries to lunge on the penultimate lap, but Lyuboslav responds to the Romanian by immediately regaining the lead, while Molota takes advantage of the situation to climb into second place. In the end Lyuboslav and Molota crossed the finish line undisturbed, in first and second position respectively, while Cosma Cristofor was forced to defend himself from Luigi Antonio Cocchianella (Kidix – KR – IAME) and finished third, with the Italian finishing fourth instead.
  • Drew Walz (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) gained 5 positions compared to the start and finished fifth. Sixth Sara Matsui (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), seventh Christian Romeo (GP Racing – GP Racing – TM). Kacper Rajpold (MG Racing Team – Tony Kart – TM) and Pietro Bagutti (Gamoto – Tony Kart – TM) were penalized by 3 seconds for the front nose in an incorrect position and classified eighth and ninth respectively. Roland Nagy (ERT Racing Team – Parolin – TM) is tenth, ahead of Viapiana, 11th.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents