Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Euro Series 2022 title for Vortex
09 August 2022

On the occasion of the last round of the championship at the International Naples Circuit, Jan Przyrowski finishes the final in the second place thanks to the performance of the DJT engine and becomes the OKJ class champion. Tuukka Taponen gets on the podium of the OK class with the DST engine.

OKJ – In the "Junior" class of single-gear karts, our DJT engine opens the weekend with three drivers in the first six positions of the chrono practices and, during the qualifying heats, records a total of 6 victories (about 40% of the heats scheduled) and 5 fastest laps. At the end of the day on Saturday, Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team) gain the first two positions in the intermediate classification, a leadership confirmed by two solid wins in the pre-finals on Sunday morning.
Just Gladysz and Przyrowski are the main players in the final, with the Ricky Flynn Motorsport driver making a perfect start from pole position and the Tony Kart Racing bearer managing his rivals throughout the race. The two Polish drivers cross the finish line scoring a double win for our colours, with Przyrowski crowned as the new champion of the category and Gladysz achieving second place in the general ranking.
With 1/3 of the starting grid made up of drivers equipped with DJT engines, the ranking continues with a Top 10 including Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport), who sprinted ahead of Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team). At the start of the final also Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport), Marcel Kasprzycki (Ward Racing), Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team), Arthur Dorison (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Alp Hasan Aksoy (Tony Kart Racing Team). Vortex ends the championship with 2 victories (out of 2) in the finals, 3 (out of 4) in the pre-finals and 10 wins in the qualifying heats (equal to one third of the heats run).

OK - Already in qualifying, our DST engine fights for the first place in the ranking: in fact, David Walther (Koski Motorsport) scores the best time in group 1, while Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) is second in group 2. Also in the intermediate ranking, after the next six eliminatory heats, the two drivers confirm their performances by taking a place in the Top 5: the two are joined by Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) with a victory.
In the final, a super start by Taponen from the outside line, with the Finnish driver immediately leading the group. The reigning OK world champion leads the race until a few laps from the end, when he is engaged in a duel with his first pursuer. In the end, Taponen finishes in second place, just a few tenths of a second behind the winner, and also takes the silver medal in the championship, despite his absence in the first round at Lonato.
33% of the starting grid is made up of chassis with Vortex engines. Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) also battles in the early laps for the top positions, but the Briton is the victim of a collision and is slowed down. Despite everything, the champion of both the WSK Super Master Series and Champions of the Future Euro Series recovers until the Top 5. Remarkable comebacks, of 12 and 10 positions respectively, also for Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing) and Ean Eyckmans (Ward Racing). The ranking continues with James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team), Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team), Coskun Irfan (Ward Racing), Oscar Wurz (Tony Kart Racing Team), Walther, Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team), Maksimilian Popov (Koski Motorsport) and Slater.

KZ2 - Positive opening of the weekend also in the master class of karts for the RTZ/RSZ units of Vortex. Four drivers take the first six positions in the qualifying session, having already set the best time in the free practice with Noah Milell (Tony Kart Racing Team). And it is the reigning KZ world champion who achieves the best result in the final, with a fourth place ahead of his teammate Adrien Renaudin (Tony Kart Racing Team). Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team) also closes the race in the top ten, while the KZ vice-world champion Lorenzo Camplese (Tony Kart Racing Team), recovers 7 positions from the start and finishes at the foot of the Top 10.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents