Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Euro Series, rd 3, Lonato: heats - The provisional leaders are Palomba (KZ2), Turney (OK), Ugochukwu (OKJ), Nakamura (MINI)
Max Bernardi
18 September 2020

A day entirely dedicated to the Qualifying Heats is the one that came to the end at the South Garda Karting. Only tomorrow after the last scheduled heats we will know the starting grids of the Prefinals for the third round of the WSK Euro Series.

KZ2: Palomba takes the lead

 Vega tires

  • Giuseppe Palomba (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) wins two victories in two Heats disputed and takes the first position in the provisional classification.

  • Second position for Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport - KR - Iame). For the Italian, two heats disputed with a win and a third place, same results for Alex Irlando (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing).

  • Fourth is Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart - Sodi - TM Racing) in a comeback of nine positions compared to the position he got in qualifying practice. Mirko Torsellini (KR Motorsport - KR - Iame), fifth position, is the only one in the top ten of the provisional classification to have run three heats, compared to the two of the others.

  • Paolo Ippolito (CRG - CRG - TM Racing) is seventh and behind him we have Bas Lammers (Sodikart - Sodi - TM Racing), eighth, while Noah Millel (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Paavo Tonteri (SC Performance - Tony Kart - Vortex) are in the two last positions of the top 10. The Finn is currently the author of an excellent comeback.

  • The 2020 European KZ Champion Marijn Kremers (Birel ART Racing - Ricciardo Kart - TM Racing) wins the clash of groups B-D while, due to a contact, ends up in the rear in the following heat. At the moment he is in 23rd position in the general classification.

  • A day to forget for Matteo Viganò (Leclerc By Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) with two retirements that earned him the 59th provisional position.

  • Tom Leuillet (Praga Kart Racing Team - Prague - TM Racing) moved from fourth place in the timed practice to 22nd provisional place due to a contact in Heat C-D where he finished only 18th.

OK: Joseph Turney the new leader

LeCont tires

  • Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) with a win and a second place in the two heats disputed is currently the best driver for the OK category.

  • Second is the poleman Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME). The new European Champion disputes three heats with two wins and a third place. Third Nikita Bedrin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) with a win and a fourth place.

  • In fourth and fifth position we have Juho Valtanen (Pantano Team - KR - IAME), three second places for him, and Matheus Morgatto (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) with only two heats disputed.

  • Same points as the Brazilian for James Wharton (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) in sixth position ahead of Rafa Camara (Forza Racing - Exprit Kart - TM Racing).

  • Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic Kart - Vortex Engines), Oliver Gray (Leclerc By Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) and Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) close the first ten places of the provisional ranking.

OKJ: Ugo Ugochukwu confirms the pole position

Vega tires

  • The provisional classification sees Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber karting Team - KR - IAME) in front of everyone. The new European Champion scores three victories and confirms the pole position obtained on Tuesday.

  • Immediately behind the American of the Sauber karting Team we find Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) with a victory and a second place in the two heats disputed.

  • Coskun Irfan (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic Kart - Vortex) takes the third position with two second places ahead of the Tony Kart Racing Team driver Alfio Spina (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex). Maxwell Dodds (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) closes the provisional top five.

  • Three heats disputed for Nikola Tsolov (Dpk Racing - KR - IAME) and Rashid Al-Dhaheri (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) sixth and seventh respectively. Eighth is Valerio Rinicella (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) who loses two positions with respect to qualifying with only two heats disputed.

  • Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) both closed the top ten with three races today.

  • Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) wins the elimination C-D but finishes 20th in A-C for an overtaking under the yellow flag that gives him a 10 second penalty.

MINI: Nakamura-Berta dictates the law

Vega tires

  • The Japanese Kean Nakamura-Berta (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - IAME) continues his golden moment and moves to the first position of the provisional heats classification, despite a time in qualifying which earned him 18th place.

  • Behind the Japanese we find Jan Przyrowsky (AV Racing - Parolin - TM Racing), also able to overturn some not-so-brilliant qualifying that had seen him finish in 22nd position.

  • From the third to the tenth position, we still find drivers (all except Lammers) who ran three heats today. We speak, in order, of: Mark Kastelic (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - IAME), Christian Costya (CRG - CRG - TM Racing), Antonio Apicella (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - IAME), James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), Andreas Cardenas (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), René Lammers (Baby Race Driver Academy - Parolin - IAME), Kai Sorensen (Parolin Racing Kart - Parolin - TM Racing) and Griffin Peebles (AV Racing - Parolin - TM Racing).

Provisional results for all categories

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents