Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Final Cup rd 2, Franciacorta: OKJ Final – Penalty for Costoya, Van Langendonck takes everything
Luca Basso
26 November 2023

[Translated with Google]

Tires: Vega

  • Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) sought victory in every way. The Spaniard started from seventh position at the start, was second after just three laps and dueled relentlessly with Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM). The Spaniard launches the attack on the Belgian on the third to last pass and, from that moment, takes off towards victory.
  • However, at the end of the awards ceremony, a twist arrives: Costoya is penalized for overtaking under yellow flags. The Spaniard slipped to ninth and lost both the victory and the title. Xiao Yu Sun (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), third, also received a 5-second penalty for the front nose cone in an incorrect position and was relegated to tenth.
  • It is therefore Van Langendonck who celebrates the victory and the championship title, second before Costoya's penalty. Extraordinary comeback of 21 positions for Niklas Schaufler (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), in tears as soon as the race finished and second after the relegations of Costoya and Sun. Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) instead inherits third position.
  • Starting from second position, Filippo Sala (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – TM) didn't have an easy time at the start and was involved in the initial brawl. In the end the Italian took sixth place, ahead of his compatriot Davide Bottaro (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), seventh. The two are then classified fourth and fifth.
  • Among the top ten we also find Jindrich Pesl (Monster K Factory Team – Intrepid – TM), sixth, Makar Savelev (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM), seventh, and Thomas Quince (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), eighth.
  • David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) recovered 10 positions in the final, but a 3-second penalty for an incorrect maneuver limited him to 13th place. Sebastian Lehtimaki (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) is eighth, but he also receives a penalty for the front nose. The Finn, initially rewarded with third place in the championship, thus falls to 18th.
  • Protagonist in the top positions, Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) retires during the last lap. Scott Kin Lindblom (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) did not take part in the final, having been eliminated in the pre-final due to a contact.



©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents