Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Open Cup: Turney (OK), Stenshorne (OKJ) and Tsolov (MINI) dominate in Castelletto
Max Bernardi
09 November 2019

Today, most of the qualifying heats had to be contested and this put a lot of excitement on track plus the always changing weather conditions. The track in the early morning was so much wet but it dried up quickly, which caused some problems to OK drivers to decide which tyres put on their karts.

OK: Turney and Barnard dominated

The day started with a clear domination from Taylor Barnard (KR/Iame/Bridg) who dominated heat A-C despite having a 5 seconds penalty. The British won a race thanks to his quick pace in the early laps with the slick tyre, when the track was still for wets and Oleksandr Partyshev (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) was in the lead.

Then, a frenetic start from Joseph Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) who took the lead in heat B-D and led until the checker-flag on a wet track. Then Turney had to face Barnard in heat A-D which finished with the victory for the Kart Republic driver, in a heat where Lorenzo Travisanutto (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) had his first retirement with Tony Kart.

At the end of the day, heat B-C bring chaos in the early laps when RS Competition driver, Bastian Buus (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) took the lead in the first lap. This helped some drivers like, Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic/Vortex/Bridg), Pedro Hiltbrand (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) and Kirill Smal (Tony Kart/Vortex/Bridg) with the last one finally taking the victory after an intense battle with Coluccio.

But despite the dominance from Taylor Barnard, it will be Joseph Turney who will start from pole position in the prefinal.

Full results

OKJ: Antonelli dominates and also messes up, Stenshorne is the new leader

Calle Bergman (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) started from pole position in heat A-E, the Swede driver despite that could not kept this place when Robert de Haan (Energy/TM Racing/Vega) overtook him for the lead. But De Haan did not secured the victory despite pulling away from Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) who overtook the Dutch for the race win.

This battled was repeated in heat D-E, with De Haan taking the victory in front of Belgian Lorens Lecertua (FA Kart/Iame/Vega) who got penalized for an incorrect position of front fairing.

Then in heat C-D, the new Rosberg driver, Martinius Stenshorne (KR/Iame/Vega) dominated the race. The same happened in heat A-B for his teammate in Kart Repiublic, Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/Iame/Vega) who was unstoppable. The Norwegian and the Italian did the same in heat A-D and B-E, respectively. But in heat B-C when Antonelli was leading all alone, he made a mistake all by himself that caused his retirement of the race, Marcus Amand (KR/Iame/Vega) inherited the victory.

Heat A-C was so much competed. Bergman started from pole position, but he did not manage to avoid Alexander Gubenko (Kosmic/Vortex/Vega) for the race lead. A lead that was then for Cristian Bertuca (Birel ART/TM Racing/Vega), until the American Ugo Ugochukwu (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega) overtook the Italian and pulled away for the race victory.

Due to Antonelli retirement, it is Stenshorne on pole position for prefinal A, with Robert De Haan on pole position for prefinal B.

Full results

Mini: Matveev and Tsolov dominate in the Mini class

The day started with a big victory for the Japanese driver Keane Nakamura (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) who beat his teammate Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) in heat A-E. Helias tried to redeem himself in heat A-B but this time despite leading half of the race, the Frenchman was beaten by Thai driver, Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega).

Tarnvanichkul again took the victory in heat B-E in a photo-finish final with Yanpu Cui (Tony Kart/TM Racing/Vega).

In heat C-D, the Russian Dimitry Matveev (Energy/TM Racing/Vega) dominated in front of Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega). Matveev continued his wining rally as he won heat A-C after a comeback from a bad start. The Energy Corse driver completed a perfect day after dominating again heat B-C against Tarnvanichkul.

Also dominated the Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) in heat D-E over his teammate, Kiano Blum (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) who showed an amazing comeback. Tsolov did the same in heat A-D wining by more than 4 seconds over Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega).

Full results

PH: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents