Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Open Cup rd 1, Lonato: OKJ Final – An amazing James Egozi takes maiden OKJ victory
Mattia Livraghi
19 September 2021

[translated with Google]

The pre-finals are held on a wet track, while the final on a dry track.

Tyres: Vega

  • After proving to be the fastest on several occasions, today James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) also proves to be the strongest. Starting from the fifth spot on the grid, the poleman on Friday and leader after the heats parades third at the start and takes the lead already on the second lap thanks to a double overtaking at the “detached mechanics”. The American driver then flies to his first success in OKJ.

  • After dominating Prefinal B, Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) completes a Tony Kart one-two. The WSK Euro Series champion slips fourth on lap one, but returns to second position during the 11th lap.

  • After triumphing in the pre-final, proving his excellent feeling on a wet track, Rashid Al Dhaheri (Ali Al Dhaheri - KR - IAME) expresses his competitiveness even on a dry track. At the first race with the KR colors, the WSK Super Master Series champion fights for victory in the initial phase of the race, only to finish on the third step of the podium.

  • Positive results also for Coskun Irfan (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), fourth, Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), fifth, Maksim Orlov (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), sixth, and Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department - Kosmic - Vortex), seventh.

  • Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) crosses the finish line in eighth place thanks to a comeback of 21 positions. Kean Berta Nakamura (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) earns seven compared to the start, finishing his weekend in ninth place after returning from the accident in Adria in the second round of the WSK Euro Series, but is then relegated to 14th by a five second penalty due to the nose being in the wrong position.

  • Akshay Bohra (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) confirm themselves at the top of the ranking, closing the top ten. The two youngsters precede William Macintyre (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and the talent in orbit Mercedes Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME).

  • After completing the first lap of the race in the lead, Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) loses some ground and exits the scene during the eighth lap.

  • Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) closes a remarkable debut weekend in 19th place, while Tiziano Monza (Sauber Orlen Karting Team - KR - IAME), another excellent rookie in the category, retires in Prefinal A. Two other good rookies, Griffin Peebles (Team Driver Racing Kart - KR - IAME) and Matias Orjuela (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) are close to qualifying for the final.

  • The fresh European champion and reigning world champion Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) is forced to retire in Prefinal A following a contact and therefore does not enter the final.


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents