Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Super Master Series, rd 2, Lonato: OK Final – Steady victory for Taponen
Luca Basso
13 February 2022

[Translated with Google]

Tires: LeCont

  • All weekend he was at the top of the standings and, in the decisive moment, the "turbo" engages: Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is very fast on Sunday in Lonato and makes no mistakes in the final. The Finn, from pole position, maintains firm command of the race from the stop lights to the checkered flag. A really solid performance for the OK World Champion.

  • In his third race in the category, Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) grabs an excellent second position, +0.546 seconds behind the winner Taponen. The licensed Jamaican driver is very quick in the final, but not fast enough to overtake the Finn in the final laps.

  • After the victory two weeks ago, Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) brings home another result on the podium. The Italian driver conquers a very important third position in view of his progress in the championship.

  • Positive fourth position of Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), good at keeping the drivers behind him at a distance. The first of these is Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), fifth after the second position in Round 1, followed by the very fast Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), sixth.

  • Still in the Top 10 James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), seventh classified ahead of Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), eighth. An unlucky start to the race forced Kean Nakamura Berta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) to make a comeback from the difficult back, but the Japanese rider hit the ninth position. Incredible rise in the rankings also for Akshay Bohra (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), from 33rd to 10th.

  • Continuing with the classification: Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is 11th; Karol Pasiewicz (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) is 12th; Harley Keeble (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) is 13th, Matteo De Palo (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) is 14th, Menthert Krozser (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) is 15th.

  • A contact between Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) forces both of them to retire. Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) does not end the final either.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents