Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Super Master Series rd 3, Franciacorta – OK final: surprising victory for Dmitry Matveev
Luca Basso
18 February 2024

[Translated with Google]

Tires: LeCont

  • From the start, the final of the OK category seems to have a single protagonist: Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex). However, the Italian is reached by Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME) on lap 12 and the latter attempts to overtake at the first corner. Pavan closes the Belgian's space and the two come into contact: the VDK Racing driver retires, while the Tony Kart Racing Team driver continues the race but finishes ninth.
  • Dmitry Matveev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), firmly in third place, smiles under his helmet as soon as he sees the accident between Pavan and Ramaekers: in fact it is he who inherits the lead and flies undisturbed towards the first victory of the season.
  • Ean Eyckmans (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM Kart) also took advantage of the incident between the first two, especially because with second place he is well ahead of the championship standings. First podium among the Seniors for Davide Bottaro (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), author of the pole position in qualifying and fighting until the end with Eyckmans for second place.
  • Standing out in the final was a surprising Fionn McLaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), capable of recovering 16 positions compared to the start. Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart) was also very fast, fifth, while Elia Pappacena (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – TM Kart) took sixth place.
  • David Walther (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex) is seventh, ahead of teammate Tiziano Monza (Tony Kart Racing Team – OTK – Vortex), eighth. The Top 10 is completed by the aforementioned Pavan, ninth, and Salim Hanna (Prema Racing – KR – IAME), tenth.
  • On the edge of the Top 10 we find Andy Consany (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM Kart), 11th, Lorenzo Campos (AKM Motorsport – KR – IAME), 12th, Alp Hasan Aksoy (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), 13th, and Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart), 14th.
  • Oleksandr Bondarev (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) collected a retirement in the pre-final, while in the final he finished 21st. With these results, the Ukrainian does not record any points valid for the championship ranking. Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM Kart) does not finish the final.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents