Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Super Master Series, rd 4, Sarno: KZ2 final – Viganò wins first place, but the title goes to Van Walstijn
Luca Basso
13 March 2022

[Translated with Google]

Tires: Vega

  • The final begins under the sign of Pedro Hiltbrand (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing): the Spaniard starts strong from pole position and immediately breaks off his pursuers. Only a "slow" brings the pursuers closer to Hiltbrand, but at the restart he still has an edge.

  • Unfortunately, like a bolt from the blue, Hiltbrand's engine broke halfway through the race, putting an end to the Spaniard's hopes of winning the title. Matteo Viganò (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) consequently inherits the leadership and brings home the success, as well as the second place in the championship.

  • Hiltbrand's retirement paves the way for title rival Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing). The Dutchman, who also suffered an engine failure yesterday, avoids several problems and finishes fifth: just enough to win the championship.

  • After a long recovery from last year's accident in Lonato, Tom Leuillet (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) finally grabs the podium this season, second behind Viganò. On the lowest step of the podium a very good Paolo Ippolito (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) climbs.

  • Jeremy Iglesias (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing) is also aiming for the podium during the final, but the Spaniard is "satisfied" with fourth position. Another excellent performance by David Liwinski (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), sixth. Positive return for Francesco Celenta (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) after the accident in Round 1 in Lonato: the Italian finished seventh.

  • Top 10 for Alessio Piccini (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), eighth, for Laurens Van Hoepen (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing), ninth, and for Adrien Renaudin (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), tenth.

  • Kris Haanen (SP Motorsport - KR - TM Racing) climbs up the ranking by 12 positions, 11th. Ivan Ekelchik (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) is 12th, while Alex Irlando (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing) is 13th. 14th position for Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME).

  • The championship adventure does not end well for David Trefilov (Maranello SRP Factory Team - Maranello - TM Racing), with the German even 25th. Unlucky retreat for Emilien Denner (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing).


Final standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents