Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Champions of the Future Euro Series rd 1, Portimao: OK Final – Undisputed victory for Artem Severiukhin, who claims maiden OK win
Mattia Livraghi
27 March 2022

[translated with Google]

Tyres: MG Tires

  • After dominating Super Heat 2, Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) wanted to write a monologue even in the final. The driver of the Ward Racing team snaps perfectly from pole and immediately stretches on his opponents, flying towards the first success in OK. Severiukhin crosses the finish line with more than four seconds ahead of his direct rival, signs the fastest lap and gives strong emotions to his team, who also wins the OKJ final with Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex).

  • Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) climbs on the second step of the podium thanks to a comeback of six positions and a series of surgical maneuvers, but on the Sunday of the British bishop it is necessary to make a brief digression. The Tony Kart Racing Team rider is in fact involved in a spectacular accident at the start of Super Heat 2 following a contact with Enzo Deligny (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing). The accident, fortunately without physical consequences for the drivers, involved a dozen karts and caused the red flag. Turney pushes his damaged kart to the parc and, taking advantage of an impressive teamwork with his team, prepares the second chassis to be able to restart. The Englishman starts again, recovers three positions and finishes second, only to repeat himself in the final. Chapeau.

  • Enzo Deligny passes third under the checkered flag thanks to a surprising comeback of nine positions, but is then relegated to eighth place by a five-second penalty, inflicted on him for an incorrect maneuver against Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex). The standard bearer of the Parolin Motorsport team slips the Swedish driver on lap eight to gain fifth place, but the two touch each other and Pedersen is forced to go off the track, slipping eighth. After occupying even third place in the first phase of the race, the standard bearer of the Ward Racing team finishes sixth.

  • The driver who inherits the bronze medal is Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing). The Winter Series champion and OK rookie parades second from the start and then is the protagonist of a "defensive" race, which sees him get his second consecutive podium in the Champions of the Future season.

  • After competing for the podium in the first half of the final, Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) has to settle for fourth place. The reigning world runner-up precedes a notable Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), who proves his ability to use every opportunity to his advantage. The reigning European OKJ champion recovers six positions from the start.

  • Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), seventh, and Malo Bolliet (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), ninth, are also authors of excellent comebacks.

  • After winning Super Heat 1 thanks to a comeback of six positions, even signing the fastest lap, the reigning world champion Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) appears more in difficulty in the final and ends in tenth place. Two protagonists of the weekend also lost positions compared to the start: Matheus Morgatto (DPK Racing - KR - IAME) and Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), respectively 11th and 12th. According to Morgatto's statements, this sudden drop in performance is due to an anomalous lack of grip on the set of new tires fitted for the final. However, the Brazilian driver is satisfied with his return to competitions in Europe and confident in view of the first round of the European championship, which will be held at the Portimao circuit in two weeks.

  • The top 15 is completed by Rintaro Sato (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), the young Mercedes recruit Yuanpu Cui (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and an extraordinary Adrian Malheiro (CRG Racing Team - CRG - IAME). The driver of the CRG Racing Team gains 15 positions compared to the start and thus ends a weekend that began with 45th place in qualifying. The Spanish driver precedes the reigning OKJ world champion Kean Berta Nakamura (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), delayed by a rear-end collision received by Matheus Ferreira (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), and Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), who lost several positions on lap 12 due to a slight off-track.

  • A complicated final characterized by some penalties also for Mercedes pupil Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), 18th, Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), 24th, Zachary David (Sauber Academy - KR - IAME), 31st, and Nicolò Cuman (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing), 33rd.

  • Unfortunately David Walther (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) is forced to retire, touching Tomass Stolcermanis as he tries to overtake him for third place.


Championship Standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents