Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Double Vortex title in the WSK Open Cup
12 October 2021

Our DJT engine leads the OKJ class and conquers the pole position, the final victory and the first three championship’s positions at the last round in Adria. The DST engine, on the other hand, obtains the title in the OK class.

OKJ - Nice double win in the final (and hat-trick in the championship) for the DJT engine in the "Junior" class of the WSK Open Cup. Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) are the two leaders of the weekend. Slater signs the pole position in qualifying, obtains five victories out of five qualifying heats and also wins the pre-final. Egozi runs at the same pace: he is the fastest in his qualifying group, signs four wins (and three fastest laps) in the eliminatory heats and is first in the pre-final, still with the best lap of the race. Slater and Egozi lead also in the final and constantly run in the first two positions: the British driver wins ahead of the American, but the latter celebrates the WSK Open Cup title. Slater finishes third in the championship, while in second place we find a concrete Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team), fourth in the final. Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department) passes under the chequered flag in fifth place and, with him, there are four Vortex engines in the first five positions. Scrolling down the ranking we also find Edgar Anpilogov (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and the "climber" Oscar Wurz (Tony Kart Racing Team) with a comeback of 14 positions. Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Mika Abrahams (Koski Motorsport), Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team) do not finish the race.

OK - The DST engine wins a title in the master class of the single-speed karts. Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) arrives in the final as one of the most likely drivers to win the championship and, in the early laps, takes the first position. After a break due to an accident, the race resumes and Taponen prefers to focus on his direct championship rivals. On the last lap, Taponen does his best and finishes third on the finishing line, a result that elects him champion of the category. Bruno Del Pino (Tony Kart Racing Team) is the second-best Vortex engine in the standings: the Spanish driver ends close to the Top 5 with a comeback of 3 positions. Rintaro Sato (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) finishes in the Top 10, in a final where a quarter of the grid is equipped with our engine. Sebastian Kinnmark (Ward Racing) completes his race, and so do Liu Ruiqi (Kosmic Racing Department) and Menyhert Kroszer (Kosmic Racing Department). Not much luck, instead, for Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart Racing Team), among the first ten drivers before retiring, and for Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing).

KZ2 - Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing) continues his training in the shifter class with the RTZ and RSZ engines of Vortex. The Swedish driver finishes, once again, among the best ten drivers of the weekend. Alexandru Iancu (Real Racing) and Mihai Muncean (Real Racing) are the other two entrants running with our engines.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents