Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

En plein of Vortex at the "COTF" in Portimao
05 April 2022

Complete dominance of our engines on the occasion of the first round of the Champions of the Future Euro Series in Portugal, reserved for OK and OKJ classes. Artem Severiukhin is first in the "Senior" with the DST, while Kirill Dzitiev wins in the "Junior" with the DJT.

OK – In the premier class of single-speed karts, our DST engine obtains excellent performances during the Portimao weekend. Already starting from Friday's qualifying, with David Walther (Koski Motorsport) and Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing) able to conquer the first two positions of the combined ranking. During the qualifying heats the Vortex dominance definitely emerges: out of the 15 scheduled races, 9 end with a victory of our engine; moreover, 12 were the fastest laps set by drivers at the wheel of chassis powered by Vortex. The same "music" in the two super heats, with two victories and two fastest laps, and not less than 15 drivers equipped with our engines entering the final, thus occupying slightly less than half of the starting grid.
From the pole position, Severiukhin was unbeatable: he perfectly jumps at the start when the lights go off, leads the race for all the 20 laps scheduled, signs the fastest lap and runs triumphantly under the chequered flag, more than 4 seconds ahead of the second classified Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team). Thanks to a comeback of 6 positions from the start, Turney completes the Vortex double win in the "Senior" category, while Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) come close to the lowest step of the podium, finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.
70% of the Top 10 of the final is led by DST engines, taking 6 of the first 7 places. Besides the already mentioned Severiukhin, Turney, Coluccio and Slater, good performances have also been gained by Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing), Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team). Also Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team), Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team), Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Caspian Hagman (Ward Racing), Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing), Simone Bianco (Koski Motorsport) and Walther attend the final.

OKJ - Also in the "Junior" category of single-speed karts, Vortex has all the cards to aim at the victory. Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) lead the "virtual" front row in the qualifying, with the Ukrainian driver setting the best time ahead of his Belgian teammate. The DJT engine, in the qualifying heats, takes home 5 wins and 6 fastest laps, but it is in the next two (and decisive) super heats that he best shows off his potential: Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing) triumphs in group 1, while Bondarev gets the victory and the fastest lap in group 2.
In the final, Dzitiev is the absolute protagonist. The driver of Ward Racing takes advantage of a wild start to take the lead of the race and gain a good advantage on his chasers. From mid-race on, Dzitiev manages the gap and gets an important victory, the second of the day for Vortex. Bondarev, on the other hand, sets the best lap and takes the lowest step of the podium. Together with the fifth place of Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport) and the sixth place of Strauven, 4 are the DJTs in the first 6 positions of the final ranking. Almost 40% of the starting grid of the final is made up of drivers at the wheel of Vortex-powered chassis. Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team) finishes a little far from the Top 10, while his team-mate Arthur Dorison (Tony Kart Racing Team) makes a comeback of 17 positions. At the start of the final we also find Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team), Griffin Peebles (Koski Motorsport), Kian Fardin (Ward Racing), Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport) and Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing).

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents