Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship OK-OKJ rd 2 and Academy Trophy rd 1, Trinec: heats – The leaders are Gomez (OK), Bondarev (OKJ) and Barry-Berg (Academy, provisional)
Luca Basso
20 May 2023

[Translated with Google]

Activity continues on the track for the Round 2 of the FIA Karting European Championship and for the Round 1 of the FIA Karting Academy Trophy on the Steelring International Circuit in Třinec (Czech Republic). After the first day of Friday, in which the qualifications and the first qualifying heats took place, on Saturday all the remaining heats for the OK and OKJ categories  of which the starting grids for the Sunday's super heat have been decided. Instead, as far as the Academy is concerned, the last two qualifying heats will be held tomorrow.

OK: Gabriel Gomez is unstoppable

Tyres: MG Tires

  • The script hasn't changed compared to yesterday's qualifying: Gabriel Gomez (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME) proves to be on another planet compared to the competition. The Brazilian, who never got into trouble during the qualifying heats, recorded five victories (out of five races) and is the number one candidate for Sunday afternoon's final.

  • However, Gomez's number one opponent, René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM), proves to be really tenacious. The Dutchman confirmed his second position in the intermediate standings, with four victories and a second place, the latter obtained in direct confrontation with the Brazilian poleman.

  • Tomass Stolcermanis (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM) plays the card of consistency in the preliminary heats and gains two positions in the standings, so as to finish in the momentary third place. Alex Powell (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) was also good, especially on Saturday, now fourth.

  • The last two heats ruin David Walther's (Koski Motorsport – Tony Kart – Vortex) scorecard, who loses two positions in this way. The Dane is however fifth, ahead of Nathan Tye (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM), sixth, and Mark Dubnitski (CRG Racing Team – CRG – IAME), seventh. The positions of Ean Eyckmans (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), eighth, and Fionn McLaughlin (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), ninth, remained unchanged.

  • The reigning European champion Kean Nakamura Berta (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) faces the Top 10, while Sebastiano Pavan (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) gains 7 positions and is currently 11th. Behind we find Miguel Costa (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM), 12th, and Luka Sammalisto (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 13th.

  • Bad luck hit Matheus Morgatto (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM), reigning world champion, with an engine problem in the penultimate heat. The Brazilian, author of a second place as the best result in the qualifying heats, occupies 14th place, ahead of Arthur Poulain (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), 15th and he too with a retirement due to of a contact with another pilot.

  • Joseph Turney (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) tries a difficult comeback from 36th place and, for now, is 20th. Thomas Strauven (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) falls 22nd, while Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Prema Racing – KR – IAME) is 26th.


OKJ: Oleksandr Bondarev knocks Lewis Wherrell off the top

Tires: Vega

  • It's not enough for him to be back on the podium at the last round in Valencia: Oleksandr Bondarev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) also wants to win the FIA Karting European Championship and the Třinec circuit seems to be the ideal place for this goal. In fact, the Ukrainian scored an incredible perfect series of five victories in the qualifying heats and, obviously, conquered the lead of the intermediate classification.

  • Three wins are not enough for Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) to keep the lead. The qualifying poleman closes the last two heats always in second position, also losing the direct confrontation with Bondarev. Nothing has been decided yet, also because the Briton will have the opportunity to start in front of everyone in tomorrow morning's super heat B.

  • Three victories also for Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) who, unlike his teammate Wherrell, gets another second and third place. The Belgian is now third, ahead of his compatriot and championship leader Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), fourth with two victories.

  • Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) and Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) both gain one more position in the standings, with the Scot fifth and the Spaniard sixth. Behind the two we find a third Parolin chassis, that of teammate Jack Iliffe (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) in seventh position.

  • Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) enters the Top 10 with a climb of 10 positions in the standings. The Italian finished eighth, followed by Tiziano Monza (Shamick Europe – Parolin – TM), ninth, and by Maria Germano Neto (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex), tenth.

  • Stable in 11th place Scott Kin Lindblom Neto (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex). Instead, two important comebacks for Gabriel Koenigkan (CRG Racing Team – CRG – TM), from 23rd to 12th, and Kian Fardin (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), from 28th to 13th. Ethan Lennon (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) remains 14th, while Guy Albag (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM) earns 15th place.

  • Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN – Vortex), 17th, lose ground, Niklas Schaufler (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), 24th, and David Cosma Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), 31st. Instead, Filippo Sala (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM) rises to 22nd place.


Academy Trophy: Barry-Berg is always the "master"

Chassis: Exprit / Engines: Vortex / Tyres: Vega

  • Total supremacy by Marius Barry-Berg (Norway) on Saturday, after winning the pole position in qualifying yesterday. The Norwegian wins both scheduled qualifying heats and, not satisfied, also takes home the two fastest laps.

  • Making his way behind the leader is Wojciech Woda (Poland), able to move from seventh position to second thanks to a fourth place and a victory. One more position also for Sebastien Garzon (Colombia), third, while Max Walton (Australia) gains two and finishes fourth.

  • The award for best climber of the day goes to Santino Panetta (Argentina), from 18th to fifth. Klara Kowalczyk (Poland) also did well, from 12th to sixth. Hugo Marti (Spain) and Arthur Broughan (New Zealand) lose positions, respectively seventh and eighth. The Top 10 is completed by Ryutaro Sakai (Japan), ninth, and Lisa Billard (France), tenth.

Results (provisional)

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents