Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship rd 2, Adria: KZ Final – Ippolito dominates in the final, Longhi charms and is European champion
Mattia Livraghi
15 August 2021

[translated with Google]

Tyres: MG Tyres

  • That Paolo Ippolito (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing) was very competitive this weekend was very evident, but that he could dominate the final was less imaginable. The Italian driver starts from second place on the grid, but immediately takes the lead and flies to victory, setting a race pace unattainable for his direct rivals and bringing CRG back to success. In addition, Ippolito thus wins the bronze medal in the championship.

  • Only Pedro Hiltbrand (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) seems to be able to worry Ippolito in the early stages. Having started fourth, the standard bearer of the Leclerc by Lennox Racing team moves into second place on the second lap and in four laps closes the gap with the CRG rider. However, the Spaniard must then give in to his opponent’s frenzied pace and settle for second position, which also earned him the title of European runner-up.

  • Third at the finish is Viktor Gustavsson (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who conquers his first podium in KZ thanks to a solid race and makes the Leclerc by Lennox Racing team's day even more joyful.

  • Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart - Sodi - TM Racing) closes the top five, gaining five positions from the start, and the reigning world champion Jeremy Iglesias (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing), who gains three.

  • Sixth to the finish line, thanks to a comeback of seven positions, is the winner of the first round of Wackersdorf Riccardo Longhi (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who is thus crowned European champion. The Birel ART Racing driver gets behind his direct opponent, Emilien Denner (Intrepid Driver Program - Intrepid - TM Racing), already on the fourth lap, but it is only at the 18th that he unleashes a lightning attack. After studying him a bit and realizing he was losing ground in the middle of the curve by staying too close to him, the Italian bishop launched himself from a distance and made a breathtaking overtaking. Unfortunately, during the next round, Denner was forced to retire due to a race contact and his chances of contending for the title to the checkered flag vanish.

  • Behind Longhi comes Francesco Celenta (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), author of an impressive race. The driver of Parolin Motorsport sprints tenth, but parades 17th during the first lap, before recovering to the sound of fast laps. In fact, he has the best time of the final.

  • Noah Milell (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) is also making a comeback, gaining four positions from the start and finishing eighth. The Tony Kart driver precedes a cheering Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME). Having started sixth, the two-time European OK champion slips 15th in the first laps, but then recovers and ends his first experience in KZ in ninth place. The KR Motorsport standard bearer is followed by three other comeback drivers, Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), Marijn Kremers (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) and Alex Irlando (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing).

  • After dominating the three heats of the weekend, Matteo Viganò (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) starts from pole position, but finds himself, in a very anomalous way, to lap six tenths slower than the time set in the race in the morning and four tenths slower than his teammates. The driver of the Leclerc by Lennox Racing team completes a weekend of the highest level with an 18th place.

  • Disappointment also for Stan Pex (KR Motorsport - KR - TM Racing), very fast throughout the weekend and among the contenders for the title. Having started fifth, the KR Motorsport standard bearer leaves the scene on lap 19 while in third place, stamped to Pedro Hiltbrand.


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents