Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship rd 2, Adria: KZ2 Final – An irrepressible Pollini wins the race and the championship
Mattia Livraghi
15 August 2021

[translated with Google]

Tyres: MG Tyres

  • After obtaining the silver medal in the first round of Wackersdorf, Giacomo Pollini (NGM Motorsport - CRG - TM Racing) triumphs and becomes European champion. The NGM Motorsport standard bearer sprints third, but immediately loses a position to the dominator of the first round of Wackersdorf Senna Van Walstijn (CPB Sport - Sodi - TM Racing). The Italian driver knows that he cannot keep up with his direct opponent if he wants to win the championship and wastes no time: midway through the first lap he invents a masterpiece overtaking, on the outside. During the second round, the contact between the leading couple formed by Giuseppe Palomba (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing) and Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) "gives him" the leadership of the race, which he maintains undisturbed to the checkered flag.

  • Second at the finish is a surprising Hubert Petit (CPB Sport - Sodikart - TM Racing), who puts the icing on the cake on a top-level weekend, gaining five positions from the start.

  • The standard bearer of the CPB Sport team precedes the two-time OK world champion Lorenzo Travisanutto (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), who thus conquers his first podium in the category with the gearbox in his debut season and also signs the lap fast. Starting 13th, the Parolin Motorsport driver slips 17th during the first lap, but then comes back with an impressive pace.

  • Arthur Carbonnel (CPB Sport - Sodi - TM Racing) closes in fourth place, recovering six positions from the start.

  • After spending almost the entire race in third place, Senna Van Walstijn launches the attack on Paavo Tonteri (CRG Racing Team - CRG - TM Racing) on ​​the last lap with a braking at the limit, knowing that only second place could allow him to win the title. The two riders touch each other lightly and end up wide, losing some positions. The CPB Sport standard bearer crossed the finish line in fifth place, thus becoming European vice-champion, followed by the CRG Racing Team standard bearer, who had to settle for fourth place in the championship.

  • Following them is Laurens Van Hoepen (Leclerc by Lennox Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who after winning the third step of the podium in the first round takes home the bronze medal in the championship, in his first season in the class with the change.

  • Giuseppe Palomba's weekend ends with a bitter eighth place, starting first and slipping 10th following contact with Danilo Albanese. The poleman on Friday was trying to overtake the Birel ART driver, after having already beaten him in the morning heat, but the contact made him leave the scene.

  • The top ten is completed by an impressive Daniel Vasile (DR - DR - Modena Engines), who gains nine positions from the start and thus ends a weekend in continuous growth, and Samuel Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), who he loses, however, four positions with respect to the start. The Tony Kart standard bearer precedes the Energy Corse couple formed by Kajus Siksnelis (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing) and Martijn Van Leeuwen (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing).


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents