Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

FIA Karting European Championship rd 4, Franciacorta: OKJ final – Big victory for Przyrowski, Khavalkin is the champion
Luca Basso
10 July 2022

[Translated with Google]

Tires: Vega

  • A thrilling final, between overtaking and counter-overtaking, and uncertain up to the last meter: it could not be otherwise in the last round of the FIA ​​Karting European Championship reserved for the OKJ class. Emerging from the battle is an extraordinary Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), already second in super heat B of the morning and his first overall success in the championship. Above all, thanks to an intelligent and trouble-free race conduct.

  • Zac Drummond (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) takes advantage of the notable retirements, fights with Przyrowski in the final phase of the race and conquers a precious second position, the first podium in his career in the European championship.

  • Behind Przyrowski and Drummond, all hell happens in the last lap: Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) tries to protect his third position on Nathan Tye (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing), now with little hope to win the title. Thanks to a misunderstanding between the two, they come into contact in the first sector of the track and are forced to retire. The Frenchman will subsequently be disqualified for the maneuver by the stewards.

  • With a large margin of advantage in the standings over Tye also thanks to the rule of discards, Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) conquers the European title by inheriting the third position on the last lap. An impressive weekend by the Parolin Motorsport driver, always played in attack and without any fear of his opponents, also underlining the absence of Zuera from the round due to visa problems.

  • Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing) barely touches the podium, fourth after a sprint finish with Khavalkin, who came in front, and an incredible Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - LN - Vortex), fifth after starting from last position on the starting grid.

  • Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) is also among the best climbers of the day: 28 positions gained and sixth under the checkered flag, with Adam Hideg (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM Racing) seventh. Between the eighth and eleventh position we find four drivers protagonists of excellent comebacks: Marcel Kasprzycki (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), from 30th to eighth; Guy Albag (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex), from 29th to 9th; Maxens Verbrugge (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), from 26th to 10th; Nicklas Schaufler (DPK Racing - KR - IAME), from 28th to 11th.

  • The ranking continues with Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) 12th, Alp Hasan Aksoy (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), 13th, Jules Caranta (Energy Corse - Energy Corse - TM Racing), from 35th to 14th, Maria Germano Neto (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex), Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex), 16th, and Lucas Fluxa (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME), 17th .

  • Fighting for third position, Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Kirill Kutskov (Birel Art Racing - Birel Art - TM Racing) make contact on lap 8 and finish the final prematurely. René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing) and Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) also retired, as well as Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) for a contact while he was in the top positions.


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents