Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Pole and victory for Vortex on the occasion of the “first” WSK event
11 February 2022

At the South Garda Karting of Lonato, theatre of the first round of the WSK Super Master Series, the DST engine hits the victory in OK with Luigi Coluccio, while the DJT engine signs the pole position in OKJ with Dmitry Matveev.

OK - First race and first victory in the master class of single-speed karts for our DST engine which takes 7 positions in the top ten of the final. Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) enliven the Sunday's final with an intense fight for the first position. Coluccio, with an excellent sprint from the pole position thanks to the victory in the pre-final and the first position in the standings, leads the race, but Slater remains very close to the Italian driver in the first laps. On the finishing line, Coluccio ends with a success with a gap of 0.817 seconds over Slater, who gets a second place on his debut in OK. The Top 5 of the final sees a total of four Vortex engines: besides Coluccio and Slater, Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) and James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) finish the weekend in fourth and fifth position, respectively. The Finnish driver, OK World Champion in charge, wins the other pre-final and shows a very good pace in the final, while the American makes a good debut in the category, also thanks to a second place and a fast lap achieved in the qualifying heats. Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing), Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team) and Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) enrich the presence of our engines in the final and, with very good performances, all three drivers finish among the top ten. Going on with the ranking, in this order, we also find Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing), David Walther (Koski motorsport), Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Simone Bianco (Koski motorsport), Menyhért Krózser (Ward Racing) and Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport).

OKJ - Since Friday's qualifying, the DJT engine is among the most competitive in the "Junior" category. Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport) sets the fastest time in all four groups, while Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) are the authors of the best time in their respective groups. In the qualifying heats, Matveev collects three wins and a fastest lap, while Frey does better with a rich haul of three first positions, a second place and a third one. A win each also for Gladysz and Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), with the latter moving up the classification to the third position. In the final, it is Bondarev one of the main protagonists: the Ukrainian driver closely marked the race leader and, at the last corner, made the overtake that gave him the victory. Unfortunately, Bondarev gets a 5-second penalty at the end of the race for the detachment of the front fairing, relegating him to fourth place overall. However, a Vortex presence is on the podium with Matveev in second position. Marcus Seater (Ward Racing) climbs a total of seven positions gaining the sixth one, while Frey finishes in the Top 10. Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team) climbs not less than 5 positions and reaches the Top 15, while Salim Hanna Hernandez (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) ends a difficult recovery from the bottom among the best 20. At the start of the final also Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team), Gladysz, Guy Albag (Ward Racing) and Alp Hasan Aksoy (Tony Kart Racing Team). Kian Fardin (Ward Racing) cannot finish the race.

KZ2 - Vortex RTZ and RSZ engines, engaged in the shifter class, enter the top ten in Friday's qualifying heats already, thanks to the performance of Adrien Renaudin (Tony Kart Racing Team). Despite two fifth places in the qualifying heats and a good race rhythm, the French driver cannot finish the final of Sunday. Jean Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team) climbs the ranking during the weekend and finishes the final close to the Top 15. The young Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing) performs a series of overtakes in the decisive race of the weekend, recovering 14 positions and finishing inside the Top 20. Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team) also attends the final.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents