Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Vortex signs two more victories in the “WSK”
16 March 2022

On the occasion of the third round of the WSK Super Master Series at the International La Conca Circuit, our DST and DJT engines achieve a double success with Joseph Turney in the OK class and Oleksandr Bondarev in the OKJ respectively.

OK - Leading performance by our DST engine in the master class of single speed karts, able to give its best in every kind of weather condition on the track. In the two qualifying sessions, held on dry and wet asphalt, four Vortex engines take the first five positions in the ranking. The record does not change even in the qualifying heats, with a haul of two victories and five fastest laps out of a total of six races and with Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) on equal points with the leader of the provisional ranking. The British driver is one of the main pretenders of the victory and does not disappoint expectations in the final: with a perfect overtaking in the middle of the race, Turney gains the lead and conquers a more than deserved victory, which also launches him first in the championship with only one round to the end. Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) signs his second podium of the season thanks to a positive third place, beating Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing): both are the authors of two excellent recoveries, of 7 positions for the British driver and 11 positions for the Swedish.

About 40% of the starting grid of the final is made up of drivers relying on Vortex engines. Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing), who starts third, suffers a collision on the first lap which puts him back several positions, but he proves to be cool and finishes seventh. Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) is unlucky in the last race of the weekend, but occupies the second position in the championship standings. Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team), despite a good weekend, is also hit by bad luck: with only one round at the end, the Italian driver is fifth in the championship.

At the start of the final we also find Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Liu Ruiqi (Tony Kart Racing Team), Kuba Rajski (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Charlie Wurz (Tony Kart Racing Team). David Walther (Koski Motorsport) retired, while James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) does not take part in the race.

OKJ - Same symphony also in the "Junior" category of single-speed karts, with our DJT engine as the absolute leader of the weekend, both on dry and wet track conditions. The qualifying heats see a predominance of the Vortex engines, led by the pole position of Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport): in fact, in the first seven positions, six are of our engines. Then, at the end of the ten qualifying heats, Vortex obtains the highest number of victories: five, practically half of the scheduled races. The final has only one driver as protagonist: Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) leads the race from the first lap and finishes first under the chequered flag with more than 9 seconds of gap over the second classified.

The Top 5 list of the final, besides Bondarev, sees three other Vortex engines: Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing) takes the lowest step of the podium, while Matveev and Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) occupy the next two positions, fourth and fifth respectively.

Exactly 1/3 of the final grid see our DJT engines on track. Taking part in the race are Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Griffin Peebles (Koski Motorsport), Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing), Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing) and Alp Hasan Aksoy (Tony Kart Racing Team), Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team), Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team), Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team).

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents