Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Vortex: twice champion of the WSK Super Master Series 2022
24 March 2022

In the last round of the series, run on the International Circuit of Naples, our engines win two titles: Joseph Turney wins in the OK class with the DST, while Oleksandr Bondarev is first in the OKJ class with the DJT.

OK – Our DST engine, in the master class of single speed karts, thanks to the second place in the final of the WSK Super Master Series 4th round set by Joseph Turney, puts the seal on a championship able to give great satisfaction to Vortex. At Sarno, the positive results come quickly: in Friday's qualifying, there are not less than three drivers in the first five positions of the combined ranking. Even in the qualifying heats there are no incongruities, with 4 victories and two fast laps. But it is Sunday's final which offers the greatest joy because Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team), from the second row, quickly takes the lead in just one lap. The leader of the championship shows off a solid performance and, with the second final position, celebrates a more than deserved title. In third position we also find Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), for the third time on the podium this season out of four races and also able to finish third in the championship. Besides Turney and Slater, two other drivers take the first five positions of the WSK Super Master Series ranking: in fact, Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team) are fourth and fifth, respectively.
42% of the starting grid of the final is made up of drivers mounting the DST Vortex unit on their karts. Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing) and Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing) and Coluccio hit the Top 10, for a total of six Vortex engines in the first ten positions of the final ranking. Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing), James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team), Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Oscar Wurz (Tony Kart Racing Team), Alvar Siimesvaara (Ward Racing), Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team) attend the final too.

OKJ - The WSK Super Master Series championship reserved to the "Junior" category of the single-speed karts sees a complete control by Vortex. Our DJT engine, in fact, leads the final podium: Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) becomes champion, thanks to a wide gap of points gained in the first three races, ahead of Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing), second in the final and in the championship, and Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport), third in the race for the title and at the foot of the podium in the race of Sarno.
Already from Friday's qualifying session, our engines rank in the first three positions of the timesheets, with Matveev in pole position followed by Bondarev and Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing), in second and third position respectively. Positive results were also remarkable during the 10 scheduled qualifying heats, with Vortex able to get the highest number of victories (6) and to record 4 fast laps.
As in the OK class, also in the "Junior" final about 40% of the line-up is made up of Vortex-powered drivers. Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team), Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Guillaume Bouzar (Koski Motorsport) hit a place in the Top 10 in the final, which Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing) just misses it. The rookie Alfie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) performs a record climb of 16 positions, while his teammate Salim Hanna (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) moves up 9 positions with respect to the start. Kaczynski, Guy Elbag (Ward Racing), Griffin Peebles (Koski Motorsport) and Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team) also attend the final.

KZ2 - Vortex's RTZ and RSZ engines, reserved for the shifter karts, jump well with two drivers inside the Top 10: Adrien Renaudin (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Noah Milell (Tony Kart Racing Team). The French driver runs fast to the final and finishes the weekend among the top ten, while a stop in the qualifying heats prevents the Swedish driver from obtaining a significant result in the last race of the weekend at Sarno. In total, 7 Vortex engines show off in the final: besides Renaudin and Milell, Jean Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Samuel Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing) make good recoveries in the race, while Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team) finishes at the top of the ranking. Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team) was unlucky and had to stop.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents