Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

Vortex: two victories in a row in the “WSK”
20 February 2022

On the occasion of the second round of the WSK Super Master Series in Lonato, the DST engine signs its second consecutive victory in the OK class with Tuukka Taponen and finishes third with Luigi Coluccio. Oleksandr Bondarev and Maciej Gladysz are 2nd and 3rd in the OKJ class with the DJT engine.

OK - Our DST engine conquers another success in the master class of single speed karts, with not less than 4 engines in the Top 5 of the final. From the pole position obtained thanks to the victory in the pre-final, Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) starts perfectly and always leads the race. The Finnish driver, OK World Champion in charge, does not make any mistake and passes triumphantly under the chequered flag in first position. After dominating the qualifying heats with three victories out of three races, Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team) takes the lowest step of the podium. With these two results, Taponen and Coluccio occupy the first two positions in the championship standings. Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing) starts the weekend from the 20th place in the qualifying and finishes the final with a surprising fourth position, ahead of Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) in fifth. In the Top 10 we find another rookie of the category, James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team), after another race finished in seventh position, and Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing), eighth. Menyhért Krózser (Ward Racing) ends the final in 15th place, while due to a 5-second penalty for an incorrectly positioned front spoiler Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing) goes back to the bottom of the grid. A collision forces Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) - one of the fastest drivers of the whole weekend and winner of the other pre-final - to stop, as well as David Walther (Koski Motorsport), Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing Team) and Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) who cannot finish the race.

OKJ - Already starting from the Friday's qualifying, our DJT engine is one of the most competitive in the "Junior" category. Enea Frey (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) signs the best lap in his qualifying group and, as a result of the overall ranking with the other groups, he is third. During the qualifying heats we have four victories: two by Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport), author also of a third place and a fast lap, one by Oleksandr Bondarev (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), who adds two second places and the leadership in the general ranking at the end of Saturday, and one by Kirill Dzitiev (Ward Racing). Also of note were the results of: Frey, three times third; Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), twice second; Salim Hanna Hernandez (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), twice in third place and a fast lap in his pocket; Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team), with a third place and a fast lap; Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team), second in one heat. With a victory and a second place respectively in the pre-final, Dzitiev and Bondarev are the real candidates for being the leaders of the final, with a grid almost half made up of Vortex engines. Bondarev jumps perfectly from the pole position and leads the first part of the race, crossing the finish line in second position. Gladysz completes the podium with the third position, behind his Ukrainian team-mate, while Marcus Seater (Ward Racing) reaches the Top 5. Przyrowski moves up two positions and finishes eighth, while Frey also gains two more positions in the standings, thus finishing in the Top 10. Hanna Hernandez makes a "record" comeback from the bottom: the Colombian driver is able to climb not less than 18 positions in the ranking and almost reaches a position among the top ten. Scrolling down the list we find, in this order, Leo Nilsson (Ward Racing), Dzitiev, Alessandro Minetto (Gamoto), Alfie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Thomas Strauven (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team), Oliver Kinnmark (Koski Motorsport) and Tarnvanichkul. Unfortunately, Marcel Kasprzycki (Ward Racing) and Matveev have to stop.

KZ2 - Engaged in the shifter category, the RTZ and RSZ Vortex engine start well with a Top 10 in qualifying thanks to Adrien Renaudin (Tony Kart Racing Team). The French driver also conquers two second positions and a third during the qualifying heats, allowing him to enter the Top 5 at the end of Saturday. In addition to Renaudin's results, there are those of Samuel Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team), with a second place in one heat, Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team), with a third position and a fast lap in the heats, and Noah Milell (Tony Kart Racing Team), the fastest in his fourth heat. Six are the Vortex engines entering the final: those of Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing), Renaudin, Jean Luyet (Tony Kart Racing Team), Valtanen, Samuel Luyet and Milell.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents