Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Champions Cup, Lonato – KZ2 final: wonderful first victory for Kajak
Luca Basso
21 January 2024

[Translated with Google]

Tires: Vega

  • Almost surprisingly, Markus Kajak (Maranello SRP Factory Team – Maranello – TM) is the winner of Sunday's final and becomes champion of the WSK Champions Cup. Starting seventh on the starting grid, the Estonian immediately gains fifth position, after which he moves up up to second position after ten laps.
  • The twist comes on lap 11: Giuseppe Palomba (Sodikart – Sodikart – TM), who started from pole position and was solidly in command at that moment, broke his engine and retired. Kajak inherits the leadership from the Italian and limits himself to containing Andrea Dalè (Andrea Dalè – CRG – TM), author of a brilliant second place.
  • After having achieved some good performances in the qualifying heats and in the pre-final A, Cristian Bertuca (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM) goes wild in the final on Sunday. In the final laps, the Italian competed for second place with Dalè, but ended up third with a difference of just 0.111 seconds. Nonetheless, the young Birel Art Racing standard bearer confirms that he is one of the major protagonists of the gearbox class.
  • Nice comeback of 8 positions for Slavik Putiatin (Maranello SRP Factory Team – Maranello – TM), fourth on the finish line. Ethan Frigomosca (Gerber Team Corse – Maranello – TM) was second after the lights went out, but subsequently slipped to fifth final position.
  • 5 positions higher in the standings for Celian Gallasin (Celian Gallasin – CRG – TM), sixth. Notable climbs by Maximilian Schleimer (Maranello SRP Factory Team – Maranello – TM), from 16th to seventh, and Sebastien Belhocine (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM), from 19th to eighth. Corentin Rousseau (Frederic Rousseau – Birel Art – TM) also did well, from 15th to ninth.
  • Tenth place for Jean Nomblot (CPB Sport – Sodikart – TM), ahead of Kimi Tani (LA Motorsport – Parolin – TM), 11th. +18 positions, however, for Dominik Reuters (Dorr Motorsport – KR – IAME), from 30th to 12th. Followed by Alex Maragliano (Renda Motorsport – Sodikart – TM), 13th, and Artem Severiukhin (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM), 14th. Elie Goldstein (Tbkart Racing Team – Tbkart – TM) is the best climber of the day, from 35th to 12th, but due to a 5 second penalty for the nose in the incorrect position he drops back to 15th
  • Rookie Dmitry Matveev also puts himself on display, going from 34th to 17th after a difficult weekend. However, Kirill Kutskov (Birel Art Racing – Birel Art – TM) and Emilien Denner (Sodikart - Sodikart - TM) withdrew.


©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents