Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Euro Series rd 3, Sarno: OKJ Final - A flawless Alex Powell takes victory, a consistent Harley Keeble wins the championship
Mattia Livraghi
27 June 2021

[translated with Google]
Tyres: Vega

  • This morning he seemed more motivated than usual, more self-confident, and he confirmed it: Alex Powell (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) dominates both the pre-final and the final and makes no mistakes. The talent in orbit Mercedes thus wins the second victory of the season and the silver medal in the championship.

  • Just four tenths from Powell comes a surprising Oleksander Bondarev (Andriy Honta - Tony Kart - TM Racing). The driver who runs with the colors of the Komarov team starts third, but immediately moves to second position and in the final phase of the race shortens the gap from Powell, without however being able to launch the attack. The young Ukrainian thus conquers his first WSK podium.

  • For the first time on the podium in OKJ there is also an amazing Kai Sorensen (Forza Racing - Exprit - TM Racing). After starting the weekend with the 53rd time in qualifying, the rookie is the author of great comebacks, including that of the final in which he gains four positions from the start.

  • James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) concludes in fourth place a weekend lived as an absolute protagonist. The American driver precedes William Macintyre (Birel ART Racing - Birel ART - TM Racing), who gains four positions from the start and demonstrates his competitiveness.

  • Sixth at the finish is an excellent Maxens Verbrugge (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex), who completes a comeback of 11 positions. The Tony Kart of Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) and Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) follow him, gaining six and 12 positions respectively from the start.

  • Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team - Tony Kart - Vortex) passes under the checkered flag in fourth place, but a five-second penalty due to the nose in the wrong position causes him to fall back to ninth. After obtaining the second place in the first round in Lonato, the Tony Kart Racing Team bishop can still celebrate the victory of the WSK Euro Series.

  • Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport - Kosmic - Vortex) also received the same five-second penalty, finishing a difficult weekend in 13th place following a comeback of 21 places, only to be relegated to 20th place. The reigning world champion and winner of the second round of Adria still wins the bronze medal in the championship.

  • An exceptional Konstantin Krapin (Ward Racing - Tony Kart - Vortex) closes the top ten, gaining 11 positions from the start. The Ward Racing standard bearer precedes Jules Caranta (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) and Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), who recover eight and 11 positions respectively from the start and 41 and 60 respectively from qualifying. The winner of the first round of Lonato finishes fifth in the championship.

  • Poleman David Walther (Koski Motorsport - Tony Kart - Vortex) is involved in an accident on the first lap and has to be satisfied with the final 21st place. Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin Motorsport - Parolin - TM Racing), protagonist of the weekend and winner of two heats, was forced to retire due to the same accident.

  • Coskun Irfan (KR Motorsport - KR - IAME) also retires after winning his pre-final and starting from the front row.


Championship standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents