Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

WSK Final Cup rd 1, Lonato: OKJ Final – Stellar debut for Sebastian Lehtimäki with the Tony Kart Racing Team
Mattia Livraghi
19 November 2023

[translated with Google]

Tyres: Vega

  • To put the icing on the cake on his debut with the colors of the Tony Kart Racing Team, Sebastian Lehtimäki (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) stages a masterpiece and signs his first victory in a WSK competition. Starting well from pole after also dominating Prefinal B, the young Finn was attacked by Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) on the third lap, but maintained his composure.
  • Lehtimäki returns to the lead of the race on lap seven and remains there until the checkered flag, managing the initial tussle admirably and the final pressure from Niklas Schaufler (DPK Racing – KR – IAME) to climb to the top of the provisional championship standings.
  • Niklas Schaufler's performance is extraordinary, second at the finish line with a fastest lap and third in the provisional championship standings. Starting from sixth place on the grid, the reigning Italian champion makes his way through his rivals and, after moving into second place on the eighth lap, closes the gap to Lehtimäki to come within a whisker of victory, which eludes him by just 26 thousandths in a photo finish. The young Austrian thus repeats the result obtained here in Lonato at the beginning of the season at the WSK Champions Cup and gives a great show of strength, competing all weekend despite having a fever.
  • Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM) had to settle for a bittersweet third place. After winning Prefinal A, displaying an impressive pace in the second part of the race, the representative of the Parolin Motorsport team aspired to a better result, but the difficulties at the start of the final and the great defense of Martinese did not allow him to obtain it. Currently second in the provisional championship standings, the young Spaniard is postponing the challenge to next weekend on the Franciacorta circuit, where just over a month ago he became world vice champion.
  • Iacopo Martinese (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) concluded another weekend as protagonists, fourth after completing four laps ahead of everyone at the start of the race, and the reigning world champion Dries Van Langendonck (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), fifth after a complicated start from second place on the grid.
  • The reigning WSK Super Master Series vice-champion Filippo Sala (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN Kart – TM Kart) crossed the finish line in sixth place after leading a good six laps in third position, suffering a tense race finale.
  • Closing the top ten thanks to convincing performances are Freddie Lloyd (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN Kart – TM Kart), seventh, Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), eighth, David Cosma-Cristofor (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) , ninth, and Jack Iliffe (Parolin Motorsport – Parolin – TM). The driver of the Parolin Motorsport team confirms himself at the top of the ranking despite losing six positions in the final and precedes two other main players of the weekend such as Matt Corbi (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), 11th, and the winner of the WSK Champions Cup at the start season Lewis Wherrell (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Kart), 12th and slowed down by some problems in the battle.
  • Completing the top five are Juliusz Ociepa (3DK Umbria Motorsport – Righetti Ridolfi – IAME), 13th and author of a surprising comeback of 11 positions, Friday's poleman Ludovico Busso (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), 14th, and Endo Arata (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex).
  • However, Rocco Coronel (VictoryLane Karting – KR – IAME) lost a place in the top 15, relegated from tenth place to 17th due to a five-second penalty due to incorrect manoeuvre, and Ilia Berezkin (Monster K Factory Team – Intrepid – TM Kart) , relegated from 14th place to 18th by a five-second penalty due to the nose cone being in the wrong position.
  • It was an unfortunate epilogue for two other protagonists of the weekend such as Roman Kamyab (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – LN Kart – TM Kart) and Arjen Kräling (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), both forced to retire on the first lap.


Championship Standings

©Photo: Sportinphoto

Explore these and many other
premium contents