Choose the language.
TKART Magazine TKART Magazine

1 year of karting for 0.96 € / week

Take advantage of it now!

World double win for Vortex in OK category
13 November 2021

First and second place for the engines of OTK Kart Group's Engine Division at the FIA Karting World Championship OK in Campillos, Spain. Tuukka Taponen triumphs with the Tony Kart Racing Team, followed by Luigi Coluccio of the Kosmic Racing Department.

OK - The DST engine wins the World title in the master class of single-speed karts, on the Spanish circuit of Campillos. From the fifth starting position, Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team) goes wild in the first laps already: he takes the lead of the race, making a real gap behind him, and crosses the finishing line first. The Finnish driver completes the triumphant weekend with the best lap as icing on the cake and, thanks to this title, Vortex can repeat the victory obtained at the KZ World Championship of last September, held in Sweden. Also Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic Racing Department) is among the protagonists of the final, finishing in second position, thus completing a nice double win for our colours. With a third of the grid made up of Vortex engines, Artem Severiukhin (Ward Racing) climbs up 8 positions and ends in sixth place, as well as Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team) who gains 8 positions and closes right behind the Swedish driver, seventh. Ten positions gained, instead, for Juho Valtanen (Tony Kart Racing Team) who is in the top 10, while Oscar Pedersen (Ward Racing) ends behind the top ten classified after an amazing weekend that saw him starting from the second position in the final. Also finishing the race are, in this order, Markus Kajak (Ward Racing), August Therbo (Ward Racing), Karol Pasiewicz (Ward Racing), Rintaro Sato (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) and Caspian Hagman (Ward Racing). Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing) retired.

OKJ - Vortex also fights for the title in the "Junior" class, too, which sees more than half of the final drivers with chassis powered by the DJTs. In a thrilling race, Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), already European Champion, flies - as proved by the best lap of the whole race - and passes first under the chequered flag. Unfortunately, due to a 5-second penalty for the incorrect position of the front fairing, the British driver misses the win by less than 3 tenths of a second, slipping to second position. David Walther (Koski Motorsport), on pole position at the end of Friday's qualifying and at the start of the final, fights for a position on the podium, but finishes fourth. Four other Vortex engines reach the Top 10: Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing) is sixth, followed by Maksimilian Popov (Ward Racing), seventh, Jonathan Weywadt (RS Competition), eighth, and Dion Gowda (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), ninth. Thanks to a great 13-place comeback, Jens Treur (KSM Official Racing Team) reaches the Top 15. Following in the ranking, are, in this order: Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic Racing Department); Arthur Poulain (Kosmic Racing Department); Edgar Anpilogov (Ricky Flynn Motorsport); Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport); Jan Przyrowski (Tony Kart Racing Team); Oscar Wurz (Tony Kart Racing Team). James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team), one of the main protagonists on Saturday with four wins in the qualifying heats and leader of the provisional ranking, cannot finish the race due to several collisions. Also Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport), Keanu Al Azhari (Tony Kart Racing Team), Daniel Vahlberg (Ward Racing), Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Tony Kart Racing Team), Arthur Dorison (Tony Kart Racing Team) and Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart Racing Team) do not complete the race.

Press Release © OTK Kart Group

Explore these and many other
premium contents